Summer Berry Compote Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was really expensive since I am at the mercy of grocers. But... it was also really delicious. I couldn't find red currants - not even dried - and I had to buy a fennel bulb. I picked one with the most greenery available & used all the greens. The fennel was very subtle, but still a classy addition I'd keep. I brought the compote to a gathering & the hostess served it over angel food cake. I thought it worked well. Definitely will make this again. Thanks, Amelia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Fabulous! This made for a simple yet elegant dessert and a perfect ending to a nice meal. It had a very wonderul combination of colors and flavors and was light and refreshing without being too filling. This is one dessert you don't have to feel guilty about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This is very good, although not particularly special. Try it again when red currants are available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Really good, but I used raspberries, sweet cherries & blueberries. Instead of fennel, I used basil from my garden in one batch & mint & lavendar in another. Delicious! Even better if you cook it and serve warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
The fennel was so subtle that it had more visual and textural impact than flavor. Still, a nice, simple, elegant way to serve fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
A definite hit. A wonderful lite end to any meal. I don't like raisins, so was leery of the red currants. They were fantastic in this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I Think This Is A Great Dish!!!! YUMMY YUMMY IN YOU'RE TUM TUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This is an excellent for a low fat, low sugar diet with a melody of taste sensations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tide Head, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
A light, refreshing summer dessert. Great with whipped cream or without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CELTIC CHEF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States