Summer Bean Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
And she gives her own review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Delicious! I used white kidney beans instead and it was just as good! Sure to be a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Wasn't crazy about it the 1st day but the 2nd day I got hooked and ate the entire thing in 2 sittings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Delicious! I have been using allrecipes.com for years, and this is only the third recipe I have rated 5 stars. This is unbelievably good considering the simple ingredients. The fresh lime juice and basil are key. I used fresh corn, cherry tomatoes, and basil from my garden. What a wonderful way to use up summer garden bounty. I made it once with fresh chives from my garden instead of onion, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Once again out of consideration for Hubs' sensitive innards, I switched celery for the corn. Normally I rate recipes higher than he does but on this occasion that was reversed. He found this a lot more palatable than I did. As for me, I didn't think it all that enhanced from the regular ol' can of beans. Also, I didn't care for the lime juice here and would have preferred lemon. Extra vegetables would have been nice for flavor and interest as well as some seasoning - fresh herbs maybe, garlic salt or fresh garlic. An okay starting point, but that's about it, at least for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I used white cannellini beans, an 11oz can of summer sweet corn, dried basil and left out the lemon zest. Quick prep (I did let it steep overnight). Very refreshing, healthy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Very good and beautiful too. I loved the lime in this. I used pinto beans because I dislike kidney beans (I bet the white would be good though). I used a garlic clove instead of an onion. Also just needed 1/2 TBS. of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Very good and refreshing! I used black beans and corn, lime juice with a dash of red wine vinegar, S&P, and some oregano flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Tastes like a pickle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I added some feta cheese, italien seasonings and balsamic vinegar--quick, easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

This authentic salad is bright with colors and complex flavors.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States