Summer Bean Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
So good. I'm not a fan of onion (raw) so I left out- still very yummy. I did fresh corn (boiled and cut off with knife) and fresh basil (of course). This is going to be my dish of the summer, for reals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Yum! I used a red onion because that was what I had on hand and boy, did it make the salad look pretty. It does taste better the second day, but I couldn't stop eating it after I mixed in the lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Really healthy and fresh. I used a can of black beans and a can of small white beans and about 1c of leftover steamed edamame. Used 2 ears of leftover corn cut off the cob, and used the zest and juice of a lime with the olive oil. I also used red onion as my onion of choice. Very light and refreshing salad....travels well and did not need to worry about a mayo based salad on a hot day. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This is delicious! I used garbanzo beans instead and also added in a bit of crushed red pepper, garlic powder (want to try minced garlic next time) and some goat cheese. It was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slytheringirl83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Somersworth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Once again out of consideration for Hubs' sensitive innards, I switched celery for the corn. Normally I rate recipes higher than he does but on this occasion that was reversed. He found this a lot more palatable than I did. As for me, I didn't think it all that enhanced from the regular ol' can of beans. Also, I didn't care for the lime juice here and would have preferred lemon. Extra vegetables would have been nice for flavor and interest as well as some seasoning - fresh herbs maybe, garlic salt or fresh garlic. An okay starting point, but that's about it, at least for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
every time I make this, at least 1 person asks for my recipe. It's seriously PERFECT for a hot summer day! And the basil is the best part!! Make sure you use fresh. It just won't work if you don't!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Didn't have light read beans, so I used dark kidney beans. Added a little more corn than called for and a can of "italian" diced tomatoes with some fresh cherry tomatoes. I thought the salad was great. I needed a lot of salt and pepper for my taste and my husband thought the onion was a little too much, but my 11 month old ate it up, my 5 year old picked around the tomatoes, but liked the rest. Great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Delicious! I was hunting through looking for a recipe to have with lamb chops and this was perfect. I used four bean mix and it was a wonderful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Very easy and delicious recipe. I substituted red onions, lemon istead of lime (although I would stick with the lime) and cilantro instead of basil because that is what I had on hand and it was yummy. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Delicious! I have been using allrecipes.com for years, and this is only the third recipe I have rated 5 stars. This is unbelievably good considering the simple ingredients. The fresh lime juice and basil are key. I used fresh corn, cherry tomatoes, and basil from my garden. What a wonderful way to use up summer garden bounty. I made it once with fresh chives from my garden instead of onion, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States