Summer Bean Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Very refreshing and colorful! I made a few substitutions that I think put this recipe over the top. I used white kidney beans instead of red, an orange pepper instead of the green (adds sweetness), white onion instead of green onions, I used an orange and a red tomatoe, cut the vinegar down to 1/4 cup and sprinkled it with goat cheese. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This is a fresh and flavorful dish. We love it. I used less red wine vinegar than the recipe called for (about 1/4 cup) just as a matter of taste. I also used it half and half with a salsa for another recipe because we ran out of salsa. It worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Very good! It has a strong vinegar flavor, so I might cut back on that next time. I'm rating it five stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I had to use canned tomatoes with green chilies and cilantro. I had no fresh tomatoes, bell peppers, green onions, or cilantro. Our pantry was running low, and this was the best recipe I could find for what we had. I'd like to try it with fresh ingredients next time, but it was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I loved this recipe. I made it exactly as stated for a family BBQ and it's all I wanted to eat all day! Everyone loved it! I've been eating all week over romaine lettuce and I'm in heaven. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I took this salad to a family event and was asked by more than one person for the recipe. It was a hit! The salsa was a very creative touch - will make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
A bit vinegary for my liking but I'd definitely make it again. I liked eating it as a chip dip/salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Added corn, avocado and used a mango-salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This salad was super easy and so delicious! It was even better the next day for lunch. It reminds me a little of the bean salad you can buy that is slightly pickled. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This is a very yummy bean salad! I made two changes, I cut the amount of vinegar in half, and I used parsley and dried cilantro instead of fresh cilantro, because I didn't have any :)I loved it this way...and so did my mom! This is a very filling and healthy salad; thanks so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Great for lunch. I used some extra veggies and added some navy beans. The dressing was nice and simple with just the vinegar and salsa. I would make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States