Summer Bean Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Very refreshing and colorful! I made a few substitutions that I think put this recipe over the top. I used white kidney beans instead of red, an orange pepper instead of the green (adds sweetness), white onion instead of green onions, I used an orange and a red tomatoe, cut the vinegar down to 1/4 cup and sprinkled it with goat cheese. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This is a fresh and flavorful dish. We love it. I used less red wine vinegar than the recipe called for (about 1/4 cup) just as a matter of taste. I also used it half and half with a salsa for another recipe because we ran out of salsa. It worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Very good! It has a strong vinegar flavor, so I might cut back on that next time. I'm rating it five stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I had to use canned tomatoes with green chilies and cilantro. I had no fresh tomatoes, bell peppers, green onions, or cilantro. Our pantry was running low, and this was the best recipe I could find for what we had. I'd like to try it with fresh ingredients next time, but it was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I loved this recipe. I made it exactly as stated for a family BBQ and it's all I wanted to eat all day! Everyone loved it! I've been eating all week over romaine lettuce and I'm in heaven. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I took this salad to a family event and was asked by more than one person for the recipe. It was a hit! The salsa was a very creative touch - will make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
A bit vinegary for my liking but I'd definitely make it again. I liked eating it as a chip dip/salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Added corn, avocado and used a mango-salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This salad was super easy and so delicious! It was even better the next day for lunch. It reminds me a little of the bean salad you can buy that is slightly pickled. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This is a very yummy bean salad! I made two changes, I cut the amount of vinegar in half, and I used parsley and dried cilantro instead of fresh cilantro, because I didn't have any :)I loved it this way...and so did my mom! This is a very filling and healthy salad; thanks so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Great for lunch. I used some extra veggies and added some navy beans. The dressing was nice and simple with just the vinegar and salsa. I would make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States