Sukiyaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This version of Sukiyaki is a wonderful recipe. It reminds me of the dish my grandfather would bring over when us kids were really young and very picky but we all loved this and would eat it all up. I do add a few more veggies, a bag of frozen deluxe stirfry veggies and it adds a little extra something. Love Love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Real sukiyaki or not, it was delicious. The only changes I made were to use a small can of bamboo shoots and added a can of baby corn. I also used alittle more corn starch for a thicker sauce and served it over chow mein noodles. My wife loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Lived in Japan for four years. While this is not "Sukiyaki" (food snob version). Japanese make a similar dish. It's quick, easy and it's very good. I'll still call it Sukiyaki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Not authentic and didn't taste anything like the real version of Sukiyaki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Whether or not this is real sukiyaki didn't really matter to me, I enjoyed this recipe regardless. The only thing I'll do differently next time is lessen the amount of bamboo shoots (personal preference) and use low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
While it tasted fine(skipped the MSG), this is in no way Sukiyaki. A simple search on google would have shown that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Very easy and very yummy! Easy to change up and still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snow Hill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I made this for my traditional Sunday dinner for my daughter and her boyfriend. We all loved it! What a great taste! The only thing that I did different was to omitt the MSG and green onions. This will definately be on my table again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbiana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
As another reader noticed, this is a beef stir-fry and not Sukiyaki. MSG? Chicken broth? Use dashi stock with soy and mirin instead, or better yet, buy some warishita (sukiyaki cooking sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
My husband loved this. I've made it a lot because it's easy and quick. Hamburger works fine if you don't have the sirloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sukiyaki

Watch Yasuko make soul-warming Japanese sukiyaki.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States