Sukhothai Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I, too, substituted rice vinegar for the white vinegar and fish sauce for the soy sauce. We also substituted asian chile pepper sauce for the paprika. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
For those who want to cook proper and authentic Pad Thai, please read advice from Bes (reviewed on Apr. 29, 2006). The changes she mentioned are absolutely correct. I'm Thai and I've eaten Pad Thai a thousand times since I was little. The dish should be quite sweet, a bit tangy, and salty. For fully authentic way of serving this, sprinkle it with dried shrimp, chopped roasted peanuts, a bunch of fresh chive, a pile of fresh bean sprouts and a lime wedge on the side. If you google the images, you'll know what I mean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I made this (for the first time) for my husband and his best friend the other night, and they said this was the best pad thai they had ever had! I couldn't find any tamarind pulp to use... but it turned out delicious anyways! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Here is superb "Authentic Pad Thai".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was okay but not restaurant style good. I am not sure what it needed though. I did replace the soy with fish sauce as everyone had suggested and that improved the flavor. Perhaps if we try it again add something to make it spicy and possibly switch rice vinegar for the white?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I made this dish tonight for my family. I am a very big fan of Pad Thai, finding it only exceptionally good from one restaurant in San Diego. I must say that this has been a 9 compared to the 10 of that restaurant. I followed Bes instructions, except the peanut oil, used safflower instead. Didnt add additional sugar and since i didnt have fish sauce on hand used regular soy sauce. I made it with chicken. My children and boyfriend loved it and so did I. Although next time, to make it a ten. I will add maybe one more egg. A bit less than peanuts, try the fish sauce and use more chili powder. And also add more lime juice. Maybe even cilantro. Great recipe, fairly easy, adjust to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
great pad thai--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juicy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I made adjustments according to Bes's review and my own and it tasted just like my fav restaurant! Here are the adjustments I made: Double the sauce, use fish sauce instead of vinegar, omit the soy sauce, cut the sugar in half (it was way too sweet as is), and use 2 tbs tamarind concentrate in 1/4 cup water. Definitely doesn't need any salt or paprika. If it's too sweet, just add more fish sauce as you cook. I didn't think it needed the additional peanuts but don't skip the peanut butter. Added shrimp and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I made this last night and it was delicious!!! Very easy and tasted just like i had gotten it from a thai restaurant!!! I like others used fish sauce instead of soy, and used half of the sugar it called for. I also threw in some chili peppers for spice. I also used chicken and shrimp instead of tofu. Overall very impressed with it and will make it again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Delicious! My sister makes this recipe all the time with the tofu. I tried it with the chicken and it was delicious. I havent used the rice noodles before, and did not soak them long enough. When the pad thai was ready, the noodles were still hard. I added a cup of water and simmered on low for 10minutes. I think it tasted even better because it really soaked up the flavor in the sauce. The boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States