Sukhothai Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Made this for my girlfriend and she loved it. I didn't have any tamarind on hand, but at her suggestion (she's a way better cook than I am) I re-hydrated some raisins, mashed them with a garlic press and added some lime juice and it made a fairly good substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Not impressed. Did not take like real pad thai. Too much vinegar and not enough sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was delicious. I used peanut butter in the sauce instead of adding peanuts at the end and I couldn't find tamarind at my local grocery store so I did it without. I also didn't add any meat or tofu. It still tasted awesome though. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roselyn Small

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Very good recipe! I followed it almost exactly. I omitted the 1 1/2 tbsp of sugar because the sauce was sweet enough to my liking. Make sure you soak the noodles until it's flexible but not too soft. I didn't soft my noodles long enough and had to keep adding water to the pan to cook it. Consequently, my veggies (I had extra asparagus on hand) were slightly overcooked. I will definitely use this recipe again for yummy goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I give this recipe 5 stars WITH the modifications from Bes (never tried the recipe as is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
needs more garlic and lime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Really good, but takes a ton of pans to make and is pretty time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Big fan of pad thai but not this recipe. It tastes sour to me. I took suggestions and used fish sauce instead of soy and replaced lime juice for vinegar. Not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHIRLEYLAMONTAGNE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
We've been making this version for a couple years and love it. I use lime pulp instead of tamarind (which I can never find). We like chicken instead of tofu, and chop it up into *tiny* bits. We prefer this dish spicy, so I add 2-3 tsp chili paste to the sauce. I sub rice vinegar for the white, cook the chicken in pure sesame oil, and use 1/8 cup fish sauce and 1/8 cup soy. The last time I made it, I used these new "5-alarm chili" flavored dry-roasted Planters peanuts at my husband's request. They worked great if you like to kick things up a notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States