Sugary Orange Peel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
These were great. They weren't difficult to make, however were very time consuming. Will definitely be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These turned out perfect! It really did take awhile, but it is really easy to multitask. I may however use a little more simple syrup mixture because I found it a little hard to submerge all the pieces at once with such a little amount. I kept switching top for bottom in the saucepan, but this became increasingly hard as they grew very soft and easily broken. Anyways, always love a good challenge and they turned out exactly how I wanted them too. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farragut, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I read through all the recipes I could find for candied orange peel and settled on this one. I wanted a recipe that left the pith because the candied peel I remembered was thick. This recipe worked well. My finished candy is just yummy. The pith left a nice thick layer that is soft and chewy like gumdrops but with a distinctly citrus/orange taste. I left it sit overnight and sugared it this morning. It is a perfect texture. I plan to dip some of the pieces in chocolate, just to try that. Thanks for a great recipe - time consuming, but very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiltingqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Like other reviewers pointed out, these are time consuming, but very easy to leave alone while you do other things. I put my pan on the table in the sun while they were drying, and it did speed things along. The flavor is wonderful- despite a few with a slightly bitter after taste. I dipped some in Hershey's special dark chocolate, with a bit of butter melted in for smoother consistency. They are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is time consuming. Even more than the directions lead one to believe, but worth it. These are delish! My mom started making them to serve on our christmas cookie tray and now I have made them too! I don't dip them in chocolate, just eat it like candy, but it is also really good cut into bits and used on top of a frosted cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Garber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
These are my new Christmas tradition. Do not skip the chocolate part as it is the perfect finsih to these orange peels. These make a great gift for someone or .. you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This is delicious, but my strips kind of broke down into very small pieces which caused some problems when it came time to sugar them. Anyway, I call this "heaven in your mouth". 'Nuf said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was time consuming, but well worth the effort. during each of the cooking phases I was able to work on other confections so it really didn't seem to take a lot of work. I included this as part of a candy gift basket and I started getting phone calls asking for the recipe. I followed the directions to the letter and it yielded much more than I expected. The only thing to be aware of is the drying time. It needs about two days or it will become wet and sticky again when piled together. I'm considering adding a few cloves and/or cinnamon to the water during cooking for a spiced orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tattoogrl13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
If you use a potato peeler the skin will come off easily without the white part. They might not be strips but they are just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Overall it's a good recipe. I used a variety of orange that had very little pith, but still made an effort to remove a LOT of it to eliminate any potential bitterness. Also, I suggest doubling the syrup recipe in order to ensure that all strips are submerged. Don't skip the water changes. Allow them to dry/cure overnight in a single layer (I put them into a cold oven). Also, if you can't find superfine sugar, give yours a whir in the food processor, and shake off excess using a large-holed collander: large chunks of sugar are unpleasant in texture and detract from the otherwise delicious simplicity of the candied peel. The reason I gave only 4 stars was for the chocolate part: for such a labor-intensive recipe, why use cheap chocolate morsels AND shortening? Just melt some very high quality dark chocolate, and leave out the nasty shortening altogether. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donnac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States