Sugary Orange Peel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This is delicious, but my strips kind of broke down into very small pieces which caused some problems when it came time to sugar them. Anyway, I call this "heaven in your mouth". 'Nuf said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Overall it's a good recipe. I used a variety of orange that had very little pith, but still made an effort to remove a LOT of it to eliminate any potential bitterness. Also, I suggest doubling the syrup recipe in order to ensure that all strips are submerged. Don't skip the water changes. Allow them to dry/cure overnight in a single layer (I put them into a cold oven). Also, if you can't find superfine sugar, give yours a whir in the food processor, and shake off excess using a large-holed collander: large chunks of sugar are unpleasant in texture and detract from the otherwise delicious simplicity of the candied peel. The reason I gave only 4 stars was for the chocolate part: for such a labor-intensive recipe, why use cheap chocolate morsels AND shortening? Just melt some very high quality dark chocolate, and leave out the nasty shortening altogether. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donnac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
These are my new Christmas tradition. Do not skip the chocolate part as it is the perfect finsih to these orange peels. These make a great gift for someone or .. you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is time consuming. Even more than the directions lead one to believe, but worth it. These are delish! My mom started making them to serve on our christmas cookie tray and now I have made them too! I don't dip them in chocolate, just eat it like candy, but it is also really good cut into bits and used on top of a frosted cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Garber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
If you use a potato peeler the skin will come off easily without the white part. They might not be strips but they are just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Like other reviewers pointed out, these are time consuming, but very easy to leave alone while you do other things. I put my pan on the table in the sun while they were drying, and it did speed things along. The flavor is wonderful- despite a few with a slightly bitter after taste. I dipped some in Hershey's special dark chocolate, with a bit of butter melted in for smoother consistency. They are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I read through all the recipes I could find for candied orange peel and settled on this one. I wanted a recipe that left the pith because the candied peel I remembered was thick. This recipe worked well. My finished candy is just yummy. The pith left a nice thick layer that is soft and chewy like gumdrops but with a distinctly citrus/orange taste. I left it sit overnight and sugared it this morning. It is a perfect texture. I plan to dip some of the pieces in chocolate, just to try that. Thanks for a great recipe - time consuming, but very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiltingqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Was a pretty dismal failure. I made the mistake though of putting all the sugar in when making the syrup so needed to double the other ingredients, thereby doubling the syrup. I think that was the problem. It ended up being pretty soggy and still pretty bitter. Since it was my mistake though I will give it another shot another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Everyone said, "Candied orange peels? That's disgusting." And then they tried them. Not bad at all, and easy enough to make, if a little time consuming. I used extra syrup mixture as well, and I saved it for the next time I make sticky buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Great! I ended up using more syrup mixture as another reviewer suggested - and I think it was a good idea, these would be hard to cook and stir in the original amount provided. One of my orange peels was very pithy, so I left those quarters in the syrup longer, probably 15-20 minutes until the pith was more translucent. I was able to use these on a cake by evening, but - as another reviewer noted - they were not fully dry until the next afternoon, so give them at least 24 hours before oyu plan on giving as gifts or packaging to store. The result is very tender, almost 'melty,' no hint of tough-orange-peeliness. While time consuming, they don't require much work - you can easily make this while you are doing other things. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States