Sugarless Pumpkin Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
We used a full 15-oz can of pumpkin and forgot that 6 packets of Splenda wasn't nearly enough... that only converts to 12 teaspoons of sugar = 1/4 cup of sugar. A regular pumpkin pie uses 3/4 cup of sugar or sometimes even more. So, if you want to use a full 15-oz can of pumpkin (most crusts hold that much), I think you'd need more like 12 to 18 sweetener packets for it to taste like a regular pie, and about 3 times the spices. At least that's how I'm going to make it for Christmas (I think I'll use 14 packets.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I have made this pie two different times with good results but I must say I didn't follow this recipe exactly. This recipe is similar to the one on the back of a Libby's 15 oz can of pumpkin and I basically drew from both recipes to make a good sugarless pie. I used the full 15 oz. can of pumpkin, a full can of evaporated milk, two eggs, about 2 tsps. of pumpkin pie spice (but went a little light on the 2nd tsp), 2 eggs and 36 packets of Splenda (equivalent to 3/4 c sugar called for by Libby's). I also followed Libby's cooking recommendations which was cooking the pie for 15 minutes at 425 degrees and then 50 minutes at 350 degrees. The pie did not turn out smooth looking like the one in the picture(there were several cracks) but it was done and it tasted delicious. And, it fit perfectly into a 9 inch pie crust. No one could tell that it was sugarless. So I would recommend this recipe as a guide but if you don't want to waste a partial can of pumpkin and a partial can of evaporated milk, then follow my guidelines and you will have a delicious sugarless pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
Wonderful! I originally created this pie for my diabetic grandmother but loved it so much I ate most of it myself! Baked in muffin pans without the pie crust it is a great snack...the hardest part is not eating it all at once :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This pie has no bad or odd after taste at all. It tastes exactly like a normal pumpkin pie. Also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
I made this pie for my dad for his last 2 birthdays and he loved them. I used Splenda this year. I can't even tell this is a sugarless pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Great recipe for diabetics hubby and mother-in-law who is an expert in cooking and baking. The only changes I made: I use 1 cup of splenda for baking sugar and fat-free evaporated milk plus 1/2 of lite whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MERY PLATA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
this is really a good tasting diabetic pie, I fixed it for thanksgiving,and had some pumpkin left in the can,so decided to fix a differnt recipe,which left an after taste. From now on I will only fix this recipe, and throw away the left over pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
I made two of these pies for Thanksgiving. Everyone loved them. You never would have guessed they were made without sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
My inlaws are both diabetic, and my dad requires gluten-free so I used a gluten-free pie shell from Whole Foods. I hated to use just a cup of pumpkin and waste the rest of the can, so following another reviewer's advice I used the whole can, 3/4 cup Splenda, 3 teaspoons p.p. spice, and an extra dash of the evaporated milk. I was a little worried that I totally bungled it when after 45 minutes it was still not "set"...but after an hour in the oven it set beautifully. Everyone raved and my husband said it tasted exactly like a regular pumpkin pie. He is quite the pumpkin pie lover (I don't care for it myself and didn't taste it) but he said it was fabulous, so I feel comfortable highly recommending it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
A good, simple & basic pumpkin pie. Don't mention it's sugarless & no one will ever know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States