Sugarless Fruit Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Love this muffin, though I made a lot of changes. First of all, I cut the recipe down to 2 servings and make it fresh for myself almost daily. Yum! Secondly, since it's summer, I make it in the microwave, and it's come out great. Also, I used extra prunes instead of dates, since I don't have any. I replaced a quarter of the flour with whole wheat flour and the butter with grape seed oil to make it healthier. Yes, I know, a lot of changes, but it's still basically the same recipe and is very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stronglive1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tantuc
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
These muffins are SO TASTY! They are moist and very sweet. I replaced butter with vegan margarine due to lactose intolerance. Even my picky eater, who wouldn't eat anything with raisins ate 3/4 of a muffin. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Absolutely Awesome!!! These are so moist ... they remind me of Morning Glory Muffins. I didn't have prunes or raisins, but added dried mixed berries instead. Also added coconut flakes when I added the nuts. Will make these again, and again, and again. Thank you Lynn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I used diced Granny Smith apple instead of dates, and these were really good muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I liked these. Due to the lack of processed sugar the flavor is slightly more complex. If you want it sweeter try adding a quarter cup of Agave Nectar. However, my kids ate them without any added sweetener and approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalyssa10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I thought these were great, with all the dried fruit who misses the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
My friends all loved these and wondered how they were sugar free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Yes... these were excellent. Moist, tasty, and easy to make. I like the idea of substituting applesauce for part of the butter, and will cook down an apple and try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Just an FYI...these are NOT sugarless. They should be labeled as "No sugar added" or something along those lines. The dates, raisins, and prunes are actually incredibly high in sugars. Natural sugars are better for you, but this recipe would not necessarily be good for someone who needs to, or wishes to, strictly limit sugars in his/her diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMALLARE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
These muffins were very good. I did alter them a bit as I added flax seed and sesame seeds, and I did not add prunes as I did not have any. I was wondering if a person could exchange the butter for apple sauce? I have used applesauce instead of oil and this had worked out fine. This way these muffins could be sugarless and low fat. If not I will still make them again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States