Sugarless Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I made these for a friend who is a diabetic. I found them to be perfectly acceptable, too. They're chocked full of good ingredients. I did not find the dough to be thin as the recipe stated. This is a very good chunky cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
A good recipe, but needed more spices (I upped it to 2.5 tsp cinnamon, 1.5 tsp allspice), more raisins (1 1/4 c. to 1 1/2 c.), and more vanilla (1.5 tsp). My recipe yielded 36 cookies - they did not spread, so drop them close together. I also used flat flake oats. The cookies are best warm, and good with jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Cake-like texture left me less that satisfied. I'm used to healthier baked goods so I enjoyed the flavor. They stick to the cookie sheet so recipe could indicate to spray sheet with non-stick spray. I got better baking/browning when flattening slightly with the back of a spatula (sprayed with cooking spray) or oiled fingertips. I was testing this recipe as a possible gift for a friend with diabetes and I don't think the result is gift-worthy. However, I will enjoy these with tea in the morning without regrets. They are certainly a healthy option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I kept adding dried fruits-even some dates to give a sweeter taste. My only complaint is that I can't stop eating these. Breakfast in a cookie. Put a little honey on top if you want sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
My diabetic coworkers loved this! Wonderful taste with the spices!! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
These cookies were okay. I substituted chopped apples for the raisins. I also added more seasonings and vanilla. I am not use to sugarless cookies, so it is hard for me to rate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I read all the prior reviews before deciding to try this recipe. My husband is diabetic and these turned out GREAT -- He loved them! People who don't like this recipe may not be used to home-baked sugarless goodies. They are not designed to be very "sweet". I doubled all the spices, added 4 "Splenda" packets (I didn't have honey), and 1/2 tsp salt. The dough is thin, but firms up a little upon standing -- the oatmeal soaks up some of the excess moisture. No, this isn't a crunchy cookie. I flattened out my spoonfuls for a cookie shape. Baked about 8-10 minutes, then let them cool. My result was a nice soft, chewy cookie. And a healthy treat for my husband's lunch box. If you are trying to duplicate a sugar free "store bought" cookie, or get a result like Mom's, this isn't it. I'll keep making these healthy snacks every week!! Try a cookie sandwich with a small amount of peanut butter in the middle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I've been trying to get away from sugar and thought this recipe would satisfy my craving for cookies. I made a few changes: used twice the amount of cinnamon and also kicked up the nutmeg and cloves. Didn't have walnuts on hand but did add about 1 cup chopped up prunes along with the cup of raisins. I used cinnamon applesauce and margarine instead of the oil. Because someone said they are not really sweet, I added 1 T honey for good measure. The batter was thin so I decided to bake them like I would brownies, in a cookie sheet (for about 20 minutes). The aroma that came from the oven was heavenly. They fit the bill for what I was wanting. Best thing about this recipe is you can add whatever suits your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
My husband has always said there is no such thing as a bad cookie, some are just better than others. Well this recipe proves that saying wrong. These could be the worst cookies I have ever made. Sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I would look elsewhere for a sugar-free cookie. This definitely isn't the winning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States