Sugarless Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I made these for a friend who is a diabetic. I found them to be perfectly acceptable, too. They're chocked full of good ingredients. I did not find the dough to be thin as the recipe stated. This is a very good chunky cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Cake-like texture left me less that satisfied. I'm used to healthier baked goods so I enjoyed the flavor. They stick to the cookie sheet so recipe could indicate to spray sheet with non-stick spray. I got better baking/browning when flattening slightly with the back of a spatula (sprayed with cooking spray) or oiled fingertips. I was testing this recipe as a possible gift for a friend with diabetes and I don't think the result is gift-worthy. However, I will enjoy these with tea in the morning without regrets. They are certainly a healthy option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
A good recipe, but needed more spices (I upped it to 2.5 tsp cinnamon, 1.5 tsp allspice), more raisins (1 1/4 c. to 1 1/2 c.), and more vanilla (1.5 tsp). My recipe yielded 36 cookies - they did not spread, so drop them close together. I also used flat flake oats. The cookies are best warm, and good with jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I kept adding dried fruits-even some dates to give a sweeter taste. My only complaint is that I can't stop eating these. Breakfast in a cookie. Put a little honey on top if you want sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
My diabetic coworkers loved this! Wonderful taste with the spices!! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
These cookies were okay. I substituted chopped apples for the raisins. I also added more seasonings and vanilla. I am not use to sugarless cookies, so it is hard for me to rate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I read all the prior reviews before deciding to try this recipe. My husband is diabetic and these turned out GREAT -- He loved them! People who don't like this recipe may not be used to home-baked sugarless goodies. They are not designed to be very "sweet". I doubled all the spices, added 4 "Splenda" packets (I didn't have honey), and 1/2 tsp salt. The dough is thin, but firms up a little upon standing -- the oatmeal soaks up some of the excess moisture. No, this isn't a crunchy cookie. I flattened out my spoonfuls for a cookie shape. Baked about 8-10 minutes, then let them cool. My result was a nice soft, chewy cookie. And a healthy treat for my husband's lunch box. If you are trying to duplicate a sugar free "store bought" cookie, or get a result like Mom's, this isn't it. I'll keep making these healthy snacks every week!! Try a cookie sandwich with a small amount of peanut butter in the middle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I've been trying to get away from sugar and thought this recipe would satisfy my craving for cookies. I made a few changes: used twice the amount of cinnamon and also kicked up the nutmeg and cloves. Didn't have walnuts on hand but did add about 1 cup chopped up prunes along with the cup of raisins. I used cinnamon applesauce and margarine instead of the oil. Because someone said they are not really sweet, I added 1 T honey for good measure. The batter was thin so I decided to bake them like I would brownies, in a cookie sheet (for about 20 minutes). The aroma that came from the oven was heavenly. They fit the bill for what I was wanting. Best thing about this recipe is you can add whatever suits your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
My husband has always said there is no such thing as a bad cookie, some are just better than others. Well this recipe proves that saying wrong. These could be the worst cookies I have ever made. Sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I would look elsewhere for a sugar-free cookie. This definitely isn't the winning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States