Sugarless Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
It is worth mentioning that these, like most "sugar free" recipes are NOT sugar free. The dried fruits contain plenty of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I made these with dried cherries and dates. They were very good and were satisfying when I wanted something sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
My friends said this tasted much like the jewish honey cake their mothers baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjohns23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
As I was using these bars to help out my 3-yr-old's "system," I wanted to make them appealing as possible. So, I added some seasoning with 1 t cinnamon, 1/2 t each of cloves and nutmeg. I replaced 1/2 the butter with applesauce, and then an additional 1/2 c applesauce for more flavor. To account for that added moisture I dumped in 1/2 c flax.... another digestive helper! My son GOBBLED THESE DOWN! I told him it was cake and he thought they were simply delicious! Oh, rather than a 7x11, I baked these in a 9x9 and that worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I made these for my mother in law and she loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
These are good. You can definitely tell there is no added sugars, so if you want something sweet, this is not the recipe for you. They turn out like a snack cake, and are very moist, especially after sitting over night. I used unsweetened applesauce for half of the butter. I would probably make these again when I want a healthier snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This is the BEST recipe ever! Great tasting and quality ingredients. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herkimer, New York, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was a great Lenten "non-dessert" for those abstaining from sweets! The flavor was very good, and the texture was great, too. I might add more nuts next time, but it was good as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meg A.
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
For what they are, they were really great! Made them for a sugar intolerant grandpa for the holidays. They aren't much for the eye though - they actually look like they have chocolate in them! I will prolly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I'd have given 20 stars if they'd allowed it! This is excellent on many levels, most importantly that it is naturally sweetened (And yes, best with wheat flour & ground flax). I was intending to photograph, because this entry needs to be honored with a picture, but haven't gotten there yet. But this recipe is a keeper to pass down through generations because of its health benefits and great taste. By the way, we used all dates because that's what we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States