Sugarless Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I just made this recipe, substituting GF flour & butter rather than margarine. It is so good - I wasn't too specific with my fruit measurements (I used more), so it was probably more chewy than the original recipe. Thanks for sharing - I know my 2 teenage boys will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Excellent- not too sweet, but sweet enough. Super nutty,dense (but moist) bread. A bit bland for me without the Cinnamon/nutmeg. So good without a single change!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HeatherC
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I just made these for my daughter who is allergic to multiple things. I used 2 ripe mashed bananas in place of eggs, 1/2 cup of flour and 1/2 cup of oats, and safflower oil instead of butter & I did use about 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. They are delicious! A new favorite! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I used 1/2 C water plus 1/2 C orange juice, butter instead of margarine and omitted the prunes and added the nutmeg and cinnamon. Although I did like the taste it was too cake like to me. I was expecting a firmer bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sc B. McKinney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I'm a Type 1 diabetic who is prone to hypoglycemic episodes when I don't snack. This recipe is so great because the sugars from the dates, prunes and raisins raise my glucose levels to just the right place while at the same time, the bars taste awesome! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlu0223

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
It's not sweet like cake but more like a nice bread with nuts and sweetness from the dried fruits. I used 1/4 whole wheat flour and butter instead of margarine, and the texture is soft and just moist enough (25 minutes baking time). I wouldn't make this for someone who is diabetic or trying to lose weight, because the dried fruits and flour do contain a lot of sugar/carbohydrates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These aren't bad at all! I have a diabetic neighbor I wanted to bake for and these tasted great even to me! I used dried apricots and green apples instead of dates and prunes. And since dried fruits aren't sugarless, I rinsed them thoroughly first (trying to get rid of some of the sugary syrup coating). I also only used 1/4 cup margarine and pecans instead of walnuts. They're not a bad snack if you don't mind a little less sweetness...I would probably drizzle a little cream cheese frosting on them next time for the sugar-eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Very good, but as someone who cooks quite often for diabetics (and I too watch my sugar intake), I can say that the "fruits" used in this recipe are VERY high in sugar--natural--but sugar nonethless. I'm just wondering if any diabetics out there have tested their sugars after eating these delicious bars and if so, have they raised your sugar significantly? Thank you so very much for posting this, and for those who care to respond to my question! Have a great day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Not bad..I have a serious sweet tooth, but I did like these for having no sugar in it. Nice texture to them. Nice recipe, if someone wants to jazz em up, just add a nice drizzle of frosting to sweeten them up. But for the healthy person, these are wonderful the way they are
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent! Exceptionally moist, very flavorful. I can't have refined sugar. This is the best recipe I have found without refined sugar or sugar substitute. Thanks very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States