Sugarless Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I've tried so many sugarless recipes but this is by far the best! Tastes so much better than those packaged "healthy" breakfast muffins/bars and it's by far better for you! I added orange juice instead of water, used butter but cut it in half, threw in some nutmeg and cinnamon, and cut the white flour with whole-wheat, ground flax seed, and wheat germ. The resulting bars were SO flavorful, moist, chewy, and possibly a little too sweet! Next time I will only replace 1/2c water with orange juice and add less dates, and I might replace most of the fat with applesauce. This is for sure worth a try if you're looking for a healthy sweet snack without the refined sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
I have been looking for a sugarfree recipe like this. Also, may I suggest something? Some diabetics can't have flour either; Instead of using a cup of flour, grind enough nuts to make an equal amount for replacement of flour. The nuts must be ground to a dustlike substance. Thank you again. I will let you know how they came out. April
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
People who knew these were intentionally sugarless loved them. I thought they were great! Kept half of the bars wrapped for a day which brought out the moistness of the fruit and rounded out the flavors. Excellent for mailing in "care packages."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2000
My husband is diabetic, so I made these for him, but I loved them! I am a real sugar addict and I love to bake, but I found these bars very easy and yummy. They satisfy my sweet tooth without the sugar and fat. I even made some for the nurse and nutritionist who counsel my husband. I ran off a copy of the recipe and brought warm bars in to one of his appointments. They loved them, too! A real winner! Kids may not like the nuts, but you could leave them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
These were moist and delicious, I added a jumble of dried fruit bits instead of dates and prunes(not a big fan) and they were still lovely, also boiled the fruits in oj/water mix to slightly sweeten the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Very good taste, but not suitable for diabetics. As the fruit is very high in natural sugar. An alternative would be to rinse the dates and prunes of the syrup they are coated in when bought, and then add them to the recipe, but I only ate one small piece being diabetic and it rose my blood sugars alarmingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkport, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
i made this recipe as muffins (it didn't make a whole dozen) and my parents raved about them, they loved that they were full of fruit and fiber. they had a surprisingly dense and moist texture, which was great. i guess my cravings for a junkier treat got the best of me, but overall this recipe is wonderful since it doesn't use sugar in addition to the fruits' sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
It is worth mentioning that these, like most "sugar free" recipes are NOT sugar free. The dried fruits contain plenty of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
excellent diabetic recipe.i find it very difficult to find good recipes to make for my dad, who loves sweets, but can't have the sugar. most are bland, but this one was a hit with diabetics, and everyone else in the family! even those with a sugar tooth liked them! highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
It is the very best. If you love the ingredients? You will love this recipe.I've known about this recipe fpr only one wk. and have made it 4 times already.I take it to my husbands nursing home and the staff just loves it, especially the ones with dieabeties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States