Sugarless Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2000
My husband is diabetic, so I made these for him, but I loved them! I am a real sugar addict and I love to bake, but I found these bars very easy and yummy. They satisfy my sweet tooth without the sugar and fat. I even made some for the nurse and nutritionist who counsel my husband. I ran off a copy of the recipe and brought warm bars in to one of his appointments. They loved them, too! A real winner! Kids may not like the nuts, but you could leave them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
This is a great recipe for diabetics. Please keep more like this coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
I used a 7 1/2" x 12" pan and the bars were over an inch high. Great color and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
Kind of bland for a cookie. The texture is more like a quick bread--this batter would make good muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
Great as a breakfast bar. I made them for a diabetic friend at christmas and he loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
People who knew these were intentionally sugarless loved them. I thought they were great! Kept half of the bars wrapped for a day which brought out the moistness of the fruit and rounded out the flavors. Excellent for mailing in "care packages."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
My husband and daughter liked these bars. My daughter does not usually eat bread or muffins, so it was a nice surprise to have her eat these. I generally prefer sweeter desserts, but I enjoyed eating these bars for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
My husband is a diabetic and it's hard to find recipes for sweets that he likes. He wasn't overwhelmed by these bars but said they were "OK". I LOVED them! Guess you really have to like dried fruits; dates, raisons etc. I couldn't find dates so I used dried apricots. Very moist and flavorful! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Nice change from muffins. I changed the walnuts for a mixture of ground flax seeds and chopped sunflower seeds. The first day I took them to work I was asked for the recipe for a diabetic family member. Will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
I have been looking for a sugarfree recipe like this. Also, may I suggest something? Some diabetics can't have flour either; Instead of using a cup of flour, grind enough nuts to make an equal amount for replacement of flour. The nuts must be ground to a dustlike substance. Thank you again. I will let you know how they came out. April
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States