Sugarless Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by HeatherC
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I just made these for my daughter who is allergic to multiple things. I used 2 ripe mashed bananas in place of eggs, 1/2 cup of flour and 1/2 cup of oats, and safflower oil instead of butter & I did use about 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. They are delicious! A new favorite! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I used 1/2 C water plus 1/2 C orange juice, butter instead of margarine and omitted the prunes and added the nutmeg and cinnamon. Although I did like the taste it was too cake like to me. I was expecting a firmer bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sc B. McKinney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I'm a Type 1 diabetic who is prone to hypoglycemic episodes when I don't snack. This recipe is so great because the sugars from the dates, prunes and raisins raise my glucose levels to just the right place while at the same time, the bars taste awesome! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlu0223

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
It's not sweet like cake but more like a nice bread with nuts and sweetness from the dried fruits. I used 1/4 whole wheat flour and butter instead of margarine, and the texture is soft and just moist enough (25 minutes baking time). I wouldn't make this for someone who is diabetic or trying to lose weight, because the dried fruits and flour do contain a lot of sugar/carbohydrates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These aren't bad at all! I have a diabetic neighbor I wanted to bake for and these tasted great even to me! I used dried apricots and green apples instead of dates and prunes. And since dried fruits aren't sugarless, I rinsed them thoroughly first (trying to get rid of some of the sugary syrup coating). I also only used 1/4 cup margarine and pecans instead of walnuts. They're not a bad snack if you don't mind a little less sweetness...I would probably drizzle a little cream cheese frosting on them next time for the sugar-eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Very good, but as someone who cooks quite often for diabetics (and I too watch my sugar intake), I can say that the "fruits" used in this recipe are VERY high in sugar--natural--but sugar nonethless. I'm just wondering if any diabetics out there have tested their sugars after eating these delicious bars and if so, have they raised your sugar significantly? Thank you so very much for posting this, and for those who care to respond to my question! Have a great day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Not bad..I have a serious sweet tooth, but I did like these for having no sugar in it. Nice texture to them. Nice recipe, if someone wants to jazz em up, just add a nice drizzle of frosting to sweeten them up. But for the healthy person, these are wonderful the way they are
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent! Exceptionally moist, very flavorful. I can't have refined sugar. This is the best recipe I have found without refined sugar or sugar substitute. Thanks very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Very good taste, but not suitable for diabetics. As the fruit is very high in natural sugar. An alternative would be to rinse the dates and prunes of the syrup they are coated in when bought, and then add them to the recipe, but I only ate one small piece being diabetic and it rose my blood sugars alarmingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkport, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
It is the very best. If you love the ingredients? You will love this recipe.I've known about this recipe fpr only one wk. and have made it 4 times already.I take it to my husbands nursing home and the staff just loves it, especially the ones with dieabeties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States