Sugarless Applesauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Raisins are high in sugar... use dried cranberries instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
If you use 3/4 cup sugar substitute be sure it's one that measures equally to regular sugar. If not use the equivalent. For example Splenda brown sugar uses about half the amount. Even with that I found the cake to be quite dense and gluten-like. Felt like a ball of paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Not really for diabetics considering it takes 2 cups of flour. But it does tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I love this recipe, and so does the diabetic in my life who refuses to eat the way he should. A cake recipe this good is slowly making a convert out of him. I have substituted chopped pecans for the raisins. It adds a nice texture and offsets the sweetness of the applesauce. I can see this being good served hot with some sugar-free ice cream for a special desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This is the best quick bread I've ever had. I can't believe the recipe doesn't have sugar or butter. I used regular splenda instead of brown sugar twin amd quadrupled the cinnamon. I also used sugar free applesauce. Doesn't taste like diet bread at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This is an awesome cake....not just for diabetics. My husband has eaten most of it and he's not diabetic. However, rather than use a loaf pan, I baked it in an 8x8 pan and placed apples, brown sugar substitue and cinnamon in the bottom before I poured in the batter. When I flipped it out, it was beautiful....much like a pineapple-upside-cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Loganville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Great and very moist my Mother inlaw loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RENOTA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I am not diabetic but have diabetic friends so thought I would try this recipe. It was very bland. I used 1/2 cup Splenda brown sugar and added 1/2 c walnuts instead of raisins, because I prefer that mix and it was suggested by another reviewer. I did enjoy that change. The taste was just ok. I am just realizing I need to find some really tasty diabetic recipes for those friends so they can enjoy the get together's too and don't have to worry about the "sugar". Also I am not a fan of the artifical sweeteners and prefer to use recipes that don't have Splenda or Twin in them. This cake also didn't keep long and molded quickly, even in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was horrible. It tasted metallic which was the brown sugar twin I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I adjusted this recipe to make a chocolate sugarless cake, and it turned out GREAT! Just omit the spices and raisins, add 4 tbsp cocoa, and I used 1 c white sugar substitute since I can't find brown sugar substitute in my town. Anyway, it is DELICIOUS and doesn't taste sugarless at all! I'm going to top it with no-sugar-added cherry pie filling and enjoy sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States