Sugar and Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
WOW! Great muffin and they do taste like cake doughnuts!! No need to get out the oil and fryer if you have a hankering for a doughnut and don't want the mess! I did add taste the batter and doubled the nutmeg and added 1 tsp. cinnamon also. Only made 5 1/2 Texas size muffins and baked at 27 minutes so if making normal size muffins, watch the time closely so they don't burn. They rose so high and looked the picture when I took them out of the oven. I had some butter mixture w/brown sugar and cinnamon left in the fridge so just nuked that and as soon as they came out of the oven, I brushed that on and it did have a browned butter taste. I then sprinkled them with whitesugar/cinnamon mixture. These are super light and fluffy tasting. I would double the nutmeg and add 1 tsp. cinnamon to the batter. Recipe doesn't call for vanilla, but if I had added a touch of that also, these would have been over the top. Great to make also if one wants a breakfast muffin and do not have fruit. KEEPER! thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Very good muffins! I added 1 tsp vanilla to the egg/oil mix and reduced the sugar to coat the muffins down to 1/2 cup. The only thing I'd change for next time is to add something such as raisins, oatmeal or shredded zucchinni, just so they taste more like a muffin and not so much a sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
I followed the recipe exactly and I thought the muffins were pretty bland. I like the heavy texture, and the smell while baking was wonderful - but I ate one right out of the oven and it was okay, then another after they had completely cooled and was still just okay. I was expecting these to knock my socks off based on other reviews, but I thought they were average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Very good! My children loved them! I did find the muffin to be a little bland the first time, so I added some vanilla and cinnamon the second time. Thanks for sharing your recipe, dakota kelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
How can this recipe have so many good reviews? I followed the directions exactly, and they came out very bland. They weren't awful or anything, just no distincitive taste, no pretty texture, nothing. I can sure use my ingredients for something more impressive and tasty than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yiouli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of Pumpkin Pie Spice instead of the nutmeg and added 1 tsp. of vanilla to the sugar/oil mixture, and they came out wonderfully-not bland at all. However, the recipe only made 10 regular muffins :(.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
These were so delicious! The topping was way too much (I made 4 batches and had plenty left over). I let the tops of the muffins sit in the butter for about 30 seconds before putting them in the topping mix. It seemed to make it carmalize a bit. Everbody absolutely loved these and went back for more again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I don't know about the original recipe. I added more nutmeg, cinnamon, and vanilla per the other comments. I also did half whole wheat flour, which made the muffins not so high, and skipped the topping all together. The result was a sweet muffin that didn't feel so unhealthy. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Topping would be better with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
THESE WERE AWSOME.but it was a little dry and i found it easier to put the cinnamin on before i put in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States