Sugar and Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
Bring on the pots of tea! This muffin was simply scrumptious. It was very easy and very fast to put together. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2001
This was a delicious recipe, one that I will make whenever I need to impress someone around breakfast-time. The cinnamon-sugar topping is a must, but a tip - I melted 1/4 cup and used the suggested amount of cinnamon and sugar, and I had a lot left over. (Not a problem in my view. It will go towards my next batch which I'll probably make tomorrow because my friends will have eaten everything already!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This is a really simple recipe that I have even used as a gift (placed all the dry ingredients - including the sugar that is to be mixed with the egg - in a jar and attached an instruction sheet). I really do think they taste like cake donuts, but I have never really been a fan of cake donuts. 3/4 cup sugar and 1/2 cup butter to dip the muffins in is A LOT! I don't think I could have used all the butter and sugar unless I immersed the muffins (hmm, but that would probably taste really good :-) ).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
This recipie really did taste like doughnuts! I got a top blue for it being the best out of baked goods at the country fair. The judges loved it and so did my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
Just like the recipe says, they taste just like cake doughnuts and they do not have the fat that goes along with fried doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Very good muffins! I added 1 tsp vanilla to the egg/oil mix and reduced the sugar to coat the muffins down to 1/2 cup. The only thing I'd change for next time is to add something such as raisins, oatmeal or shredded zucchinni, just so they taste more like a muffin and not so much a sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Scrumptious! I use my mini muffin pan and served them warm to my playgroup. These were very easy, and did taste just like fresh sugar donuts. It would be fun to bake them in the morning and have the kids dip them in sugar and eat as they go. Too bad hubby can't try them, they are all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I am giving this a 4-star because my family really enjoyed them, however, the rest of this review is according to MY taste. They definately had the heaviness and texture of a cake donut...you really need to dunk these to enjoy them. They would have been bland if it weren't for the potent taste of nutmeg. The only way I would make them again is if my husband specifically asked for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
These are very tasty and easy to make and they really do taste like cake doughnuts. I used a mini-muffin pan and baked them for 15 minutes. The batter recipe yields 24 mini muffins but there is enough topping for 2 or 3 batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I made these muffins for my husband and myself. Since there's just the two of us, I decided to freeze some. Unfortunately, they DON'T freeze well. They are good fresh, and I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States