Sugar and Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
These were so delicious! The topping was way too much (I made 4 batches and had plenty left over). I let the tops of the muffins sit in the butter for about 30 seconds before putting them in the topping mix. It seemed to make it carmalize a bit. Everbody absolutely loved these and went back for more again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I'm giving this 4 stars because the kids loved them. I didn't care for them but they were easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
I followed the recipe exactly and I thought the muffins were pretty bland. I like the heavy texture, and the smell while baking was wonderful - but I ate one right out of the oven and it was okay, then another after they had completely cooled and was still just okay. I was expecting these to knock my socks off based on other reviews, but I thought they were average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
Muffins were a bit dry, but the tops were addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbury, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
This was very tasty. I added about 3/4 tsp of cinnamon as advised from other reviews and it was good. I only got 9 muffins out of this recipe, tho, and I just have a standard muffin tin...nothing extra big or anything like that. I would scale it up by 1/2 if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
Great! my sis loved them! I Added alot more cinnamon though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Good, filling recipe. I added vanilla & added cinnamon to the batter per another rater's rec.- cut the sugar and butter down to 1/4 cup sugar and less than 1/4 cup butter to coat just the top of the muffins and still had leftover sugar/cinnamon mix. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
Very dense and heavy. I added the vanilla as suggested in previous reviews but the flavor is still lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
FIVE STARS ALL THE WAY!! All out of baking powder so I substituted with equal parts of a mix of baking soda and cream of tartar (I mixed 1 and 1/2 tsp. of each and then just measured out what the recipe called for). I used skim milk, and I also added some honey and cinnamon to the batter, and I always lightly spray the paper liners with cooking spray to help prevent sticking. VERY tasty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
These were very Yummy. Didn't remind me of a cake doughnut, but my daughter thought it did. I made the recipie exactly as stated, except only used 1/4 cup melted butter and 1/2 cup sugar for the topping. That was plenty with some left over. The kids enjoyed dipping their muffin in the butter and sugar/cinn mix. I will make these again. It only made 9 regular size muffins and two smallish ones. Next time I will squeeze them into 10 perfect sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States