Sugar and Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Very nice and light. My family really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
How could these ever be bland! They're AWESOME!!! Made a dozen last night and they're gone today! Did take recs on adding pumpkin pie spice and only making half the topping. Might even make 'em again tonight!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbucket91905

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Good, but not great. Will try some of the variations listed in the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of Pumpkin Pie Spice instead of the nutmeg and added 1 tsp. of vanilla to the sugar/oil mixture, and they came out wonderfully-not bland at all. However, the recipe only made 10 regular muffins :(.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Really loved this recipe. Definitely reminded me of the cake donuts I used to have when I was a kid from a local bakery. My daughter thought they were dry but I think we had different expectations. DELICIOUS. I will probably make this recipe way too many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I added a little more nutmeg and some cinnamon to the recipe, but its still a bit bland. Not bad with a cup of tea, but couldn't stand on its own as a breakfast item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Amazing how much this DID taste like donuts. My toddlers helped make them and the best part was dipping the top into the butter and cinnamon and sugar. Great recipe. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
The flavor of the muffins was decent, and but it was easy. So it gets a three star for that. The muffins look more like biscuits than muffins. It has a rough and crumbly exterior. I wouldnt not make this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This was an excellent recipe - especially to play around with! I didnt have any nutmeg so I used cinnamon, vanilla flavoring, and ginger in the batter. I used 1/3 more cups of milk and had to add a little more flour to get a thicker consistancy. I also added a tablespoon of ground coffee. I used 2 old "6 muffin" pans and the recipe made exactly 12 muffins. They were absolutely delicious, and the buttery topping with the sugar mix was the perfect compliment. This is a very sweet recipe (may be too sweet for some) but thats exactly how I personally like it. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
WOW! Great muffin and they do taste like cake doughnuts!! No need to get out the oil and fryer if you have a hankering for a doughnut and don't want the mess! I did add taste the batter and doubled the nutmeg and added 1 tsp. cinnamon also. Only made 5 1/2 Texas size muffins and baked at 27 minutes so if making normal size muffins, watch the time closely so they don't burn. They rose so high and looked the picture when I took them out of the oven. I had some butter mixture w/brown sugar and cinnamon left in the fridge so just nuked that and as soon as they came out of the oven, I brushed that on and it did have a browned butter taste. I then sprinkled them with whitesugar/cinnamon mixture. These are super light and fluffy tasting. I would double the nutmeg and add 1 tsp. cinnamon to the batter. Recipe doesn't call for vanilla, but if I had added a touch of that also, these would have been over the top. Great to make also if one wants a breakfast muffin and do not have fruit. KEEPER! thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States