Sugar and Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Delicious muffins. Not too sweet or too bland for taste either as some reviews stated. I did add about a 1/2 cup of oatmeal for a bit of fiber which changed the texture to a more dense one. And the melted butter was skipped in my version. A cinnamon and sugar mix I did use as a sprinkle on the top half way into baking. That provided the perfect amount of sweetness combined with the other ingredients. Next time I will likely add some vanilla and cinnamon to the mix to experiment a little. (I think every cook is a scientist in an apron. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
These have a great flavor, but mine were very dense. I didn't over-stir -- I'm always careful about that with muffins. I'll try them again since the flavor was good to see if I can get them to be a little lighter. They are sweet and I like sweeter muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Very good! I used cinnamon instead of nutmeg- tastes like a snickerdoodle muffin!!! Just the right amount of sweetnes, and nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Yummy!! kids and adult approved Less butter for dipping is needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I, too, added 1 tsp of vanilla extract to the batter. Made all the difference in the world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This recipe has great potential! After reading reviews calling it bland, I added 1 tsp vanilla extract to the batter. Also I added about 1 tsp cinnamon to the powder mix. And my last addition was adding a little brown sugar to topping mix. Perfect!!! Will definitely make these again with my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
My 15 year old daughter made these for us this moring. They were really good and easy enough for her to make on her own. I do like the idea of playing around with the spices in the muffins. Maybe pumpkin pie spice or applesauce in place of the oil....although they were really yummy the way they were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Topping would be better with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
THESE WERE AWSOME.but it was a little dry and i found it easier to put the cinnamin on before i put in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Very good! My children loved them! I did find the muffin to be a little bland the first time, so I added some vanilla and cinnamon the second time. Thanks for sharing your recipe, dakota kelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States