Sugar and Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
These were DELISH!!! I made them exactly how theyre instructed on this recipe the first time around PLUS I added some cinnamon (2/3 of a tsp) to the dry ingredients and about 1tsp of vanilla extract to the wet ingredients. The second time around I didn't have oil or eggs on hand so I omitted the eggs and used 1/3 of a cup of melted butter in place of the oil. They were still great! Def a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsy
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I altered it slightly, putting some cinnamon in the batter itself, as well as cutting back on the amount of white sugar in the topping, and substituting that with brown sugar (sorry for not having exact measurements, I pretty much winged it.) The consistency was a little cakey in my experience, but I prefer that. They were a hit among my parents and siblings, as well as my boyfriend's family. I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Yum Yum Yum! Thanks for sharing this recipe! They were so good! I added a tsp of cinnamon to the batter and they were very delicious and they made my house smell amazing. there would be really good on a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I also added vanilla, maybe if people found them bland its because they didn't roll the entire muffin in the butter and cinnamon sugar. If you baked them in paper liners then all you could dip was the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Delicious muffins. Not too sweet or too bland for taste either as some reviews stated. I did add about a 1/2 cup of oatmeal for a bit of fiber which changed the texture to a more dense one. And the melted butter was skipped in my version. A cinnamon and sugar mix I did use as a sprinkle on the top half way into baking. That provided the perfect amount of sweetness combined with the other ingredients. Next time I will likely add some vanilla and cinnamon to the mix to experiment a little. (I think every cook is a scientist in an apron. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
These have a great flavor, but mine were very dense. I didn't over-stir -- I'm always careful about that with muffins. I'll try them again since the flavor was good to see if I can get them to be a little lighter. They are sweet and I like sweeter muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Very good! I used cinnamon instead of nutmeg- tastes like a snickerdoodle muffin!!! Just the right amount of sweetnes, and nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Yummy!! kids and adult approved Less butter for dipping is needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I, too, added 1 tsp of vanilla extract to the batter. Made all the difference in the world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This recipe has great potential! After reading reviews calling it bland, I added 1 tsp vanilla extract to the batter. Also I added about 1 tsp cinnamon to the powder mix. And my last addition was adding a little brown sugar to topping mix. Perfect!!! Will definitely make these again with my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States