Sugar-Topped Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Delicious! Plus it's a great way to use up the last of the applesauce! I used brown sugar and chunky applesauce, added 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg and a heaping tsp. of vanilla. I also subbed low-fat buttermilk for regular milk to ensure a moist and fluffy muffin. I topped them with turbinado sugar before popping them in the oven for some added "crunch" and opted out of the butter/sugar mixture. I baked these at 400 for 20 minutes in a Texas sized muffin tin and got 5 huge muffins. A nice sweet treat with a cup of hot tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Wonderful muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
My kids loved the recipe. I am always looking for healthy easy snacks for the kids after school. I run a home daycae so this was perfect. I think I will add a bit more applesauce next time for some added moisture. Oh, and I used strawberry applesauce that is what I had on hand. Good recipe will used this again and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I just made these and they are soooo delicious. I used bisquick because I dont keep any biscuit mix. I read some of the reviews and I disagree with any changes. I always make the recipe how it was originated first and then make changes if I make it again. No change needed for this and I will be making it again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greeneyedgurl2820

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Really good! I upped the sugar to 1/3 cup, added a bit more applesauce because I was trying to use it up and doubled the cinnamon. Insead of baking mix I used 2 C. flour, 1tbsp of baking soda and 1/4 tsp salt. baked @ 400 for 12 min. I wasn't shy with the melted butted and cinnamon sugar mixture, warm from the oven or heated in the microwave- VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I used my own homemade whole wheat baking mix, homemade organic applesauce, and buttermilk. I did throw in one chopped apple for added fiber. These turned out really pretty! I made mini-muffins out of this recipe and I did actually get 24 mini-muffins out of this recipe. I think when I make this again, I'll use apple pie spice (we like a spicier muffin) and I'll add a little vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Not bad at all for using a baking mix! I used chunky cinnamon applesauce. They came out perfectly moist. However, I only got 9 muffins instead of 12. The dipping butter & cinnamon sugar were the perfect amt for those 9.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seth
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Good, but even better with blueberries...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These are a new favorite around my house. I mix up the dry ingreds and then my daughter (8) can add the rest in the morning and then we scoop them into pans - NO liners. I brush teh tops with butter and sprinkle cinnamon and sugar on. If you arent going to eat them right away, I suggest NOT doing the butter/sugar topping - they get soggy in storage. Rewarm and add later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIFFER2525

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I can't imagine this would make 12 good size muffins. I made them into only 4 jumbo muffins. They were really dry and pretty bland. The best part is the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States