Sugar Toasted Almond Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
First time trying this one. Loved it. Was afraid of the tbsp of mustard in the dressing, but, the proof's in the pudding! Total success with everyone !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Loved this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This salad turned out wonderfully. I made it for 10 people at Passover and there was only about one serving left. Per other reviews I changed the yellow mustard for Dijon mustard, and cut down the vinegar to 1/2 cup. Though I only had about 1/4 cup of red wine vinegar so I also put in 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar, and it was delicious. Omitted the mushrooms and the cheese ( I don't like these things ), used about 1/2 of a large red onion and upped the mandarin oranges to closer to 2 cups. The almonds turned out fantastically and I can see why people say to double those! All the flavors blended well together and it was a light, refreshing salad to have. Will definitely be making again now that the weather is warming up! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
salad was great ! Esp. the twist on toasted almond with sugar .. very easy and delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaylivg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Guests raved at this dish. I made it like the recipe except for doubling the almonds, decreased vinegar to 1/2 cup, and used dijon mustard instead of yellow. More people asked for the recipe than anything I've ever made. Will make it again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
LOVE IT! I'm a pretty boring salad eater. I normally don't like a "busy" salad at all. We made this for Thanksgiving and we all loved it, inlucding me! Definitely make the dressing and the home-made candied almonds are amazing! Make more almonds than it calls for and save them to eat later! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atsugi, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made this salad to go with our dinner tonight. My husband, who is basically a meat-and-potatoes man, loved it! He ate two helpings. I cut the red wine vinegar down to a 1/2 cup and used Honey Dijon mustard instead of yellow mustard. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
There is so much I love about this salad - the crisp romaine, the crunchy sweet almonds, the refreshing oranges and the zippy dressing. It's such a great combination of ingredients! The only change I made was using dijon mustard instead of yellow. I would cut the vinegar back to 1/2 cup next time for a better balance of oil and vinegar. Also, be sure to get the almonds nice and brown to enjoy their flavor fully - it's the highlight of this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This salad was a hit at my house! I will definitely make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States