Sugar Snap Peas with Mint Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I had to make these the-less-than-fresh-ingredient-way. I bought frozen peas and used onion powder, garlic salt, olive oil and dried mint (because I had none of the other items on hand). I nuked the peas for three minutes, added the spices/oil, continued nuking for two more minutes and then added the dried mint. Wow! What a combination of flavors! Next time I will do it right, but if you're in a pinch this will suffice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Husband liked them. I used regular diced onion and garlic but less mint. Wouldn't want to use the whole amount, think the mint flavor would be over bearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Really tasty--the mint is a nice and subtle touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I make these sugar snap peas whenever I can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Good, Easy and healthy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I made this w/o the scallions, I didn't have them in the house and increased the mint to twice the amount in the recipe. I also should have lower the cooking time to about two-thirds. Just my desired done-ness for vegatables. I loved the flavor in this dish. I will try it again with the scallions and reduce the cooking time. I think it will be PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
These were ok, couldn't taste the mint though. I used lemon mint cause it's what we have growing outside. Maybe I needed to use more since it wasn't straight mint. My hubby and daughter loved them but they both really like sugar snaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
So good - so fresh and so easy - it is a GREAT summer recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Jancsek Bonk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I LOVE fresh sugar snap peas! I like them best as simple as possible to highlight the natural flavors. I took someone else's advice to use thyme instead of mint (big mistake!) it's a much stronger herb than sugar snaps need! It was my own fault so I'm rating this according to what I think it would be if I had followed the recipe! Fresh and Delicious!! I followed everything else as I should and I highly recommend using the freshly ground sea salt in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
We liked this recipe although I'd probably do a few things differently next time. I like my snap peas a little softer, so I'd probably steam them a bit before doing everything else. I used a few sprigs of fresh mint and felt like it needed more than that since there wasn't a lot of minty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States