Sugar Plum No-Bake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Sugar Plums have been a favorite in my family since well before I was born (I am 47). I cannot remember a Christmas without them. Some advice on the preparation... Time is of the essence when making these if you want them to be perfect little plums. The jello starts to set once you add the liquid ingredients and if you do not form into balls quickly enough, they will start to crumble as you continue to try to form them. Do not try to make a double batch at once, you will not have time (unless you have at least two speedy helpers). I make them with Christie Vanilla wafers, crushed into crumbs (I like this better than graham crumbs). When you are ready to insert the cloves into the balls (they would have been rolled in hello at this point), remove the ball tip from the clove and insert the remaining stem all the way into the plum so that you just see a star on the surface of the plum (kind of looks like what you see on an orange). Let in plums sit out for an hour or so before putting into any container. I recommend waiting a day before serving as the clove will flavor the plum (I find they taste the absolute best after a couple days). Do not forget to tell whoever treats themselves to one of these to remove the stem(the clove) as chewing on this is not pleasant to most people. For the person that said these are too liquid, you HAVE to use SWEETENED condensed milk, not the other condensed milk (sweetened condensed milk is very, very thick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Way too liquidy, and I tried really hard to save this, adding more coconut and even a lot of flour to thicken it up but it was still very difficult and messy to work with. Also if you are just using the clove stems as a garnish and not for taste I learned today they are very expensive so would recommend something else as a substitute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
didn't like. they were to gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Dry... No one ate these :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Made these for a Christmas office party and they were a HUGE hit. Sweet-tart and a nice break from the ooey, gooey rich offerings. There were MANY requests for the recipe. VERY easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made these for a cookie giveaway and they were a hit, even with the ppl that don't care for coconut. It did need 1/4c extra crumbs to make them stiff enough to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This are yummy and very easy to make. And I love they are a no-bake treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I love this recipe, because it is so easy to make. Everyone else loves these because no one has even seen a sugar plum. I hate coconut, so I just replace the coconut with extra graham cracker crumbs. Also, you can buy graham cracker crumbs or I just put the graham crackers in sandwich bags and let the kids beat them. I think this is the kids favorite part of making theses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
LOVE THESE! I made my second batch today:-) The ingredient list is an odd combination, but it comes together nicely. The mixture really does look like raw meat, but they are absolutely adorable once you roll the balls and put the clove in. I thought about not using the clove, but it makes a huge difference in appearance. Mine are much smoother than the photo here. I used the pre-made crumbs in the box. I don't know if that helps, but they look really smooth. I was worried they would be squishy, but the jello sets up after a little while and they are plenty firm. Planning on making these every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I think that these are good but definitely an acquired taste. Other reviews mentioned that more graham cracker was required so I added half a cup more based on their reviews. I found that it was perfect and rolled easily. Will make again but next time will try some different touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by younglady23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States