Sugar Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was a good recipe. I made these changes: Brown sugar, one tablespoon salt. I think I will use soy sauce instead of salt next time to make teriyaki peanuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I love sweet nuts and these are excellent. It took about 5 min before the mixture came to a rolling boil after the peanuts were added and 8-10 min. after that until the syrup disappeared and all that was left were peanuts coated in a thick coating of sugar. It was almost like magic! I don't work with candy much, so I'm glad I read the reviews. My husband said, "Add this recipe to your book." They were that good. Oh, the roasting went well. Did it exactly like the recipe stated. When these are right out of the oven, they seem soft, but when they cool they are quite crunchy--if you can wait that long to eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This is a great recipe. It originates from Africa where it is a restaurant and street food snack. It's called Sugar Peanuts. You may want to wait until the boiling liquid has come to the thin thread stage ~ 223-234ºF (106-112ºC) before adding the peanuts. They will have time to cook before reaching the hard crack stage when all of the water has evaporated. The temperature will drop and you will have to bring it back, but that happens pretty fast. HTH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
My only advice is to keep stirring! I waited about 15 minutes and all of a sudden the liquid crystallized. I put the nuts on a cookie sheet and baked for about 15-20 minutes (didn't need the full 20 minutes). I tried this recipe both with salt and without. I think it is better without the salt! This recipe is great for parties, too. My friends loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRYBERRY1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
These are easy and great. The first time I tried them, I thought I had done something wrong because it took so long for the sugar to thicken up around the peanuts. It takes 6 - 7 minutes. So be patient! Then, my oven tends to run hot so I burned them but they still tasted pretty good. The second time I made them, I baked them at 300 for 25 minutes and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
These are great!!My four yr. old loves them along with the rest of the family. My dad and husband love them out on the deer stand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Emmet, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
These do take awhile to cook but they are good. You'll know it is time to take them off the stovetop when the sugar suddenly crystalizes and is no longer liquid. I think I will add some salt next time because just the sugar makes them a bit plain. Great base recipe though. I think I might try them next time with pecans and add cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Big hit with the hubby!! Fairly easy to make, great flavor. Found out by trial and error that the lowest rack in the oven worked best (coating tended to burn on the middle rack...could be just my oven). Would definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
These are great! I've made these twice and the second time I added a teaspoon of salt to the sugar mixture - oooh, they were really tasty. They tasted like the peanuts in a box of Cracker Jacks. As another person said, just keep stirring - the liquid will evaporate eventually, I promise (it took me 15 - 20 minutes I think.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Soooo simple! They would be great Christmas neighborhood gifts! They seem like they would be a lot of work, but are simple. Be sure to keep at medium heat until all liquid is absorbed. I put them on parchment paper and it helped with cleanup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pirate Princess
Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States