Sugar Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
These are good. I had to stir for a long time about 30 min. on medium and the syrup didn't seem to get much thicker so I put it on high to get it going and that did the trick. I use a heavy non stick pan and stirred with my rubber spatula. Put in the oven at 300 so I wouldn't burn it for 30 minutes. Put a little cinnamon in the syrup and sprinkled some salt on them before baking. Very tasty. I was expecting a shiny peanut not crystallized but good none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
GREAT RECIPE! I got creative with the recipe though. I added abunch of cinnamon, a little ground clove, a bunch of maple syrup, and a little salt to the recipe. Turned out great! However, next time I would make sure I put my peanuts into the sugar mixture immediately before it boils. Even after baking it for 30 minutes at 300, the peanuts don't seem roasted enough. Next time I will also try with brown sugar instead. YUM! Taste like the expensive nuts you buy at the mall during xmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I have set my timer to see how long it take to boil out the water. It took me 9 minutes but I really started to see a change in the mixture after 7 minutes. Lots of stirring. I did not have enough raw peanuts so I used salted and they turned out amazing! You must try these. What a great snack!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
These peanuts are exactly what my hubby and I have been searching for! They are called "Sweet and Crunchy" if you buy them from the store. They are so simple to make; I will never have to search the stores at Christmas time for them again!! Thanks for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiselput

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Yumm-oooo! Made these real fast for my kid's as a special after school snack. It did take some time for the sugar to coat the nuts, I had about 13 minutes. The only change I made was to use salted nuts because that's all I had on hand. I am hoping it does not change the texture of the nut to much. Will update if it does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I have made these nuts for YEARS. My recipe is a little different: 1 1/2 c sugar, 3/4 c water, 1 lb raw peanuts. I make these at least twice every year. Stir constantly till liquid is absorbed (18-30 mins). Pour onto buttered jelly roll pan. Sprinkle w salt & bake at 300 for 15 mins. Stir. Bake for another 15 mins. Cool. Store in airtight container. Do not double recipe. Found this in a recipe book by Holly Ebel bought in Solvang, CA in the 1980's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Great recipe! Be sure to use parchment paper to prevent the peanuts from sticking while roasting them in the oven. I made the mistake of using wax paper, then aluminum foil the first two times (doh!). Third time's the charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Super easy & really tasty! Reminds me of a candy from when I was a kid - Boston Baked Beans. Clean-up was harder than the whole process of making these yummy nuts because my saucepan isn't non-stick, but this recipe will be made over and over again in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
So much for everyone's advice to "Just Keep Stirrin'!" I stirred and stirred and stirred, waiting for the liquid to crystalize. Now my kitchen is full of smoke and I have a pan of peanuts covered in blackened goo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
So simple and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States