Sugar Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This is a great recipe. It originates from Africa where it is a restaurant and street food snack. It's called Sugar Peanuts. You may want to wait until the boiling liquid has come to the thin thread stage ~ 223-234ºF (106-112ºC) before adding the peanuts. They will have time to cook before reaching the hard crack stage when all of the water has evaporated. The temperature will drop and you will have to bring it back, but that happens pretty fast. HTH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
My only advice is to keep stirring! I waited about 15 minutes and all of a sudden the liquid crystallized. I put the nuts on a cookie sheet and baked for about 15-20 minutes (didn't need the full 20 minutes). I tried this recipe both with salt and without. I think it is better without the salt! This recipe is great for parties, too. My friends loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRYBERRY1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
These are easy and great. The first time I tried them, I thought I had done something wrong because it took so long for the sugar to thicken up around the peanuts. It takes 6 - 7 minutes. So be patient! Then, my oven tends to run hot so I burned them but they still tasted pretty good. The second time I made them, I baked them at 300 for 25 minutes and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
These are great!!My four yr. old loves them along with the rest of the family. My dad and husband love them out on the deer stand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Emmet, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
These do take awhile to cook but they are good. You'll know it is time to take them off the stovetop when the sugar suddenly crystalizes and is no longer liquid. I think I will add some salt next time because just the sugar makes them a bit plain. Great base recipe though. I think I might try them next time with pecans and add cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Big hit with the hubby!! Fairly easy to make, great flavor. Found out by trial and error that the lowest rack in the oven worked best (coating tended to burn on the middle rack...could be just my oven). Would definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
These are great! I've made these twice and the second time I added a teaspoon of salt to the sugar mixture - oooh, they were really tasty. They tasted like the peanuts in a box of Cracker Jacks. As another person said, just keep stirring - the liquid will evaporate eventually, I promise (it took me 15 - 20 minutes I think.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Soooo simple! They would be great Christmas neighborhood gifts! They seem like they would be a lot of work, but are simple. Be sure to keep at medium heat until all liquid is absorbed. I put them on parchment paper and it helped with cleanup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pirate Princess
Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I came across this recipe and looked at it its the same recipe my customer gave me a couple of weeks ago. They are really good. I doubled the recipe. Just poured water and sugar over peanuts over medium heat and stirred and stirred didnt time myself. Like my customer said just keep stirring until liquid is abosorbed. Just be patient and if you keep stirring the liquid will absorb. Throw them in the oven she told me 30 minutes which I did. Very good!!! Just keep stirring is the secret nothin to it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I had the same problem as another reviewer... My liquid never became a thick syrup?!? Maybe I too didn't boil long enough...?!? I am sure this is a wonderful recipe and my review is more from my experience, not the taste. I ended up throwing it all away :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States