Sugar Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
These are good. I had to stir for a long time about 30 min. on medium and the syrup didn't seem to get much thicker so I put it on high to get it going and that did the trick. I use a heavy non stick pan and stirred with my rubber spatula. Put in the oven at 300 so I wouldn't burn it for 30 minutes. Put a little cinnamon in the syrup and sprinkled some salt on them before baking. Very tasty. I was expecting a shiny peanut not crystallized but good none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
GREAT RECIPE! I got creative with the recipe though. I added abunch of cinnamon, a little ground clove, a bunch of maple syrup, and a little salt to the recipe. Turned out great! However, next time I would make sure I put my peanuts into the sugar mixture immediately before it boils. Even after baking it for 30 minutes at 300, the peanuts don't seem roasted enough. Next time I will also try with brown sugar instead. YUM! Taste like the expensive nuts you buy at the mall during xmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I have set my timer to see how long it take to boil out the water. It took me 9 minutes but I really started to see a change in the mixture after 7 minutes. Lots of stirring. I did not have enough raw peanuts so I used salted and they turned out amazing! You must try these. What a great snack!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
These peanuts are exactly what my hubby and I have been searching for! They are called "Sweet and Crunchy" if you buy them from the store. They are so simple to make; I will never have to search the stores at Christmas time for them again!! Thanks for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiselput

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Yumm-oooo! Made these real fast for my kid's as a special after school snack. It did take some time for the sugar to coat the nuts, I had about 13 minutes. The only change I made was to use salted nuts because that's all I had on hand. I am hoping it does not change the texture of the nut to much. Will update if it does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I have made these nuts for YEARS. My recipe is a little different: 1 1/2 c sugar, 3/4 c water, 1 lb raw peanuts. I make these at least twice every year. Stir constantly till liquid is absorbed (18-30 mins). Pour onto buttered jelly roll pan. Sprinkle w salt & bake at 300 for 15 mins. Stir. Bake for another 15 mins. Cool. Store in airtight container. Do not double recipe. Found this in a recipe book by Holly Ebel bought in Solvang, CA in the 1980's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Great recipe! Be sure to use parchment paper to prevent the peanuts from sticking while roasting them in the oven. I made the mistake of using wax paper, then aluminum foil the first two times (doh!). Third time's the charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Super easy & really tasty! Reminds me of a candy from when I was a kid - Boston Baked Beans. Clean-up was harder than the whole process of making these yummy nuts because my saucepan isn't non-stick, but this recipe will be made over and over again in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
So much for everyone's advice to "Just Keep Stirrin'!" I stirred and stirred and stirred, waiting for the liquid to crystalize. Now my kitchen is full of smoke and I have a pan of peanuts covered in blackened goo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
So simple and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States