Sugar Glazed Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
This is the fastest way ever of making salad glazed nuts. It's definately not the holiday nuts, but that's not needed for for salads. I don't really even measure the sugar to water ratio strictly, and it always turns out fine. The only thing is the time in the microwave. BEWARE: WATCH THE CARMELIZATION because you may end up w/ charred walnuts w/ 8 minutes in your microwave. I find that 4-5 minutes works well with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This recipe is great for whipping up glazed walnuts for your salad in 5 minutes flat! DO be careful with the cooking time however- some microwaves are much stronger than others. I nuked the nuts for 4 1/2 minutes, stirring after each minute. They would have been perfect after only 4 minutes. The sugar started to recrystalize after that- not as pretty. They were slightly browned and oven-crispy. Who knew you could have crunchy glazed nuts from the microwave?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
This is a keeper! I made 1 cup with 800 watt micro and it took 3 minutes. I used brown sugar for a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
These were extremely easy and quick to make and a lot cheaper than buying the prepackaged ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
made these sugared- walnuts with a tropical caribbean salad- (fresh greens, mango, strawberries, dried cranberries, kiwi and a blush vinagrette) while i also had the "recrystalizing problem" (my fault- cooked 20 sec too long, this is SO easy! stir every min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Wow...what could be easier?? I was looking for sugared walnuts to add to a salad I was making so I tried these--they were excellent--and my husband and kids scarfed the rest down as a snack. I used walnut pieces and cooked for between 5 and six minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
After reading the reviews, I was very cautious about the timing--but found it took me the entire 8 & a half minutes suggested in the recipe to caramelize the sugar. Easy easy easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This is a great recipe for quick and easy sugared walnuts, but got mixed reviews for taste at my house. I thought these tasted like little sugar bombs that did not allow the walnut flavor to come through. My husband liked them a lot saying they tasted like walnuts to him! I added some cinnamon to mine as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I put these delicious nuts on a spinach salad with dried cranberries, mandrin oranges, and poppy seed dressing last night. I couldn't believe it when my friends went back for seconds on the salad instead of the other yummy choices! They literally scraped the salad bowl clean! My microwave tood about 5 minutes; it's not hard to know when they're done. Just stir them every couple of minutes, and take them out when the sugar looks caramelized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
How can something so simple be sooo delish!!!!! I accidently burn it a little but most of the pieces are still good. So good on a rassberry vingerette salad. Thank you Sharon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harbor City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

All about Walnuts

See how to get healthy, crunchy walnuts into your diet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States