Sugar Glazed Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
make sure you stir this every minute to keep an eye on it. the first batch i mircowaved for 5 minutes and ruined it. it only took my micro. 4 minutes to cook it. the only thing i would change is maybe to roast the walnuts first in the oven to get rid of some of the raw nut taste, and then do this recipe. these are fantastic on a salad with green apples! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
DO NOT let them cool on parchment paper as one reviewer suggests...you can guess what happens, lol should've known...Other than that, these were great! I lessened the water and sugar by about a tbsp and added a tbsp honey. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Easy to prepare and tasted great. 8 minutes was too long - try 6 - 6 1/2. You can also turn out onto waxed paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is my families favorite snack. I prefer to use pecans and brown sugar. I also like to add an extract, usually vanilla but raspberry or other fruit flavor works well too, about 1 tspn. I also tried lime juice and chili powder and/or cayenne pepper, both were great adds. For the holiday's, I pour the glazed nuts, hot out of the microwave, straight over a fudge pie just before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I love how easy this recipe is. I cut back on the sugar a bit, as the first time I made it my husband thought it was too much. (I enjoyed them both ways.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
The Best!! Microwaves do vary so much that I only made 1/4 batch the first time. We could not stop eating them. These will make a great addition to our homemade Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
These were awesome. I cooked them in the oven b/c I don't have a microwave and the nuts were great. I made 2 batches, and on one I added some ground ginger and cinnamon which were extra good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I used pecans and baked them like another review suggested but I was very happy with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen
Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I scaled this recipe way back since I only needed a small amount to top the Sweet Summer Fruit Bruschetta recipe from this site. My walnuts burnt after 2.5 minutes so make sure you watch them closely. That was all the walnuts I had so I substituted pecans instead and the recipe worked great with about a 2 minute cooking time (about 1/2 C of nuts). They'd be good with some cinnamon added too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Easy! Great addition to strawberries in salad greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

All about Walnuts

See how to get healthy, crunchy walnuts into your diet.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States