Sugar Glazed Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I love salmon and I love vinegar so this recipe was perfect for my taste! I'm making it again tonight. I recommend reserving some of the marinade for drizzling on after its cooked...that way, it is not contaminated by raw meat. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
We ate it, but it wasn't one of our favorites. I halved the sugar - putting half of that amount in the marinade & half on top. Well, eventhough I used Balsamic vinegar - sweeter than red wine vinegar - it still tasted too much like vinaigrette on salmon. Sweet & salmon does go together fine, but I think the problem is the vinegar. I'll stick with Asian Salmon, but still hunt for another good one. Any suggestions? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Tried it without the sugar glazing and it was fantastic! Very healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
If you're a huge fan of salmon, avoid this recipe. I tried this recipe thinking it would be a new and different variation on my favorite fish - boy, was it! Wayyyy too sweet, and like another reviewer said, the sauce completely masked the distinctive flavor of the fish. Now I know that sugar and salmon were not meant to be. Not to completely trample over Yvonne's submission, I DO think this might be good for someone who hates fish or to maybe convince finicky-pallated young children to eat fish. I'd say it's a recipe for fish-eaters on training wheels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
Wow, very tasty a deffinate keeper, I used half balsamic and half white wine vinager twas excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
We loved it - even the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
I wanted to do something new to my usual salmon fillets and I thought this recipe was a "safe" bet since so many have given it 5 stars. I love salmon, but I could barely eat it this time. My tastebuds must be completely different from everyone else's because I found this recipe terrible. Salmon is already sweet since it is naturally fatty. The sugar and red wine vinegar made the fish so sweet and fruity tasting that it was really a waste of good salmon. All I could taste was the marinade and none of the salmon. I would not recommend this recipe. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
This was OK-be sure to watch the salmon to avoid burning with the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
Loved it ! Tried without the sugar and it was terrific ! Finishes real moist, not dry as salmon tends to get....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
This was a nice, different recipe for salmon. The combination of the vinegar and sugar flavors gently blended for a great taste. I used the sugar lightly as we had never used a sweet treatment for salmon before. Over-all it was well liked by my family, but I think that my husband is just more accustomed to the old lemon and dill-type treatment. Good change of pace:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States