Sugar Free Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This was very good. I would make a egg white glaze to give it a better look
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Fantastic recipe. Everyone loves it. No need to tell anyone it is sugarfree. I made several variations. I made some with sugarfree Raspberry Preserves, and some with Sugar Free Maple syrup and Pecans (brush a little bit of syrup on tops after they have been baked). Last year I made some with a raspberry creamcheese filling. Beat creamcheese with a little splenda and little SF raspberry preserves. ( Sorry, I rarely measure anything) You can also use this dough in a mini tart pan. I did that too last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This was my first time making sugar free cookies, and they were excellent! I made the dough with 1/2 whole wheat flour, I added about 1/4 cup Splenda to the dough, and used a combo of walnuts and almonds (that's what I had on hand) and several varieties of Spreadable Fruit. My kids loved them and didn't care that they were sugarfree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naches, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
These are sooo good! I cut the recipe in half but only cut them into 8 pieces NOT 16. I think 16 would have made the cookies way to small. I baked them for 10 min on one side and 8 min on the other because they got brown quickly due to the high fat in the pastry. Will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Wonderful! I need good sugar free items for several members of my family and this is the best cookie recipe yet. I used 1/3 C. Splenda in dough and 2 Tbls. in raisin/nut mixture. I divided the dough, wrapped in Glad Wrap and chilled. It was very easy to get the 16 triangles and they practically rolled themselves! I rolled each 1/4 of dough between sheets of waxed paper. When I had each round the right size I carefully peeled back the wax paper, dusted with flour, layed each round on cookie sheet and chilled for about 10 minutes before I layered fruit and nut mixture. I too brushed each with fruit spread just as they came out of the oven. It's nice because I prepared raisins/nuts mixture, put in plastic bag; then later stirred up dough and chilled it; then later on I made the cookies. This makes it seem less labor intensive. Thanks for this recipe. It is the greatest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
I love it! I put 3/4 cup Splenda in the dought and 2 tablespoon in the filling. Work perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I made these for a group gathering. Probably the best thing about making this recipe was the overwhelming, grateful appreciation of my diabetic friend when she thanked me for thinking of her special needs. She *loved* them, and the rest of the people thought they were pretty good, too. I couldn't get the raisins to "chop" in the food processor, so maybe using currants the next time would be a good idea. I also recommend baking the cookies on parchment paper. The apricot all-fruit, which I dabbed on top of cookies as other had suggested, tends to drip off and bubble around the cookies. Using parchment makes it easy to lift (peel) the cookies right off the sheet. I added a little extra flour to the dough for high altitude, so it was a little stiffer than I'd like for rolling. Next time I might try it without extra flour - and perhaps the dough will be more tender after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
This is the BEST recipe for sugar free rugelach I have ever tasted. I like to add a little Splenda into the dough and also into the filing. It's also real easy to triple the recipe and to store it in a container(even thought it gets eaten real fast!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
Cannot say this was an easy recipe to make but once you got the hang of it went quickly. Absolutely delicious my copliments to the Dr. I rolled some in a little splenda and cinnamon mixture for the non-diabetics in the group but all were loved and eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANNYJNY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA
Living In: Cooperstown, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
My father loves sweets but he was diagnosed diabetic this year, which has been hard on him. Being Christmas and all, I searched for a cookie that he can eat, and I found this one. He really liked it. He said it wasn't very sweet but after a moment or two eatting it, he can taste the natural sugars. I'll make these again for him. It was fairly easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarkestStar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States