Sugar Free Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Carbs are still present on this recipe, so diabetics should modify and eat with caution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Campbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I almost never review the recipes I try from this site, but I just HAD to share how awesome these things are. Making them was a bit time consuming, but overall very easy. And they turn out super well. I didn't do anything to tweak the recipe. I loved them (and I REALLY dislike walnuts) and my family finished of an entire package of them at Thanksgiving. Just keep in mind that while these may be "no sugar added," since they contain white flour and raisins they are definitely not "sugar-free."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I have made these for years. I have substituted crescent rolls for the dough when in a hurry. I usually dice up dried apricots or cranberries instead of the raisins. My family loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Love, love, love these little bites of heaven, with, or with out the raisins they are good. Great for making with the grand children!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Adams

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
They took 15 minutes longer to bake than stated. They also tasted rather salty (from the cream cheese) when they 1st came out of the oven. Oddly enough they became tastier/sweeter over time. They were scrumptious when they were 2 days old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I had never heard of Rugelach before, but after making it more times then I can count, this recipe is wonderful! The residents that I cook for that are diabetic, really appreciate how great the taste is. Thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I am a BEGINNER and was able to make this recipe. It was challenging for me kneading the dough, so a beginner needs to pay attention and take there time adding the ingredients slowly together. (which is common sense for more experience bakers) I had to modify this dish by not adding any nuts due to food allergy's. I added dates and raisins just to give it a little sugar (just the sugar from the dates). I used a reduced fat strawberry spread. Even with these modifications, this recipe still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronica Miller
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
These were gobbled up by diabetics and non-diabetics alike at our Church picnic--people were raving! I really enjoyed them and don't even see the point in making them any other way-they are perfect without any added sugar. I pulsed the nuts, raisins and cinnamon together in a food processor many times--I imagine doing this by hand would take a long time to get the chunks small enough. You don't want huge chunks are your filling will be really uneven. I do disagree with "no artificial ingredients" b/c margerine is artificial. That doesn't bother me, but if you want a completely natural cookie you can substitute butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I made these for my dad who is diabetic with strict instructions that he shouldn't eat to many at once. The recipe was really simple to follow and he said they were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ami

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Since I made some changes (not by choice) they had a lovely mild sweet taste to them. Great way to snack and satisfy your cravings without feeling guilty. A few of these could serve as a quick breakfast. Instead of walnuts, I used pecans. Instead of apricot preserves, I used Smucker's low sugar strawberry. Instead of margarine, I used 1/2 stick butter and 1/2 cup applesauce then added milled flaxseed for the pastry.***UPDATE*** I made this again but I didn't have cream cheese. I used sour cream and plain yogurt with a bit more flour, I had to bake it twice as long and it still came out awesome!! This is my favorite recipe, I will make this more often, maybe fill it with other things like tomatoes and mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States