Sugar Free Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Recipe looks great. I'm just concerned that it's labeled sugar free and no sugar info is listed below for it. Dates, coconut and raisins have sugar, and while more natural, they can still wreak havoc with a diabetic. Most Diabetic's would know better, but someone who is not and is baking for those with sugar issues could be misled. An accurate sugar count should be listed in the nutrition section. When we're talking about peoples' health we need to be accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Good recipe. I added NuNaturals for Baking Stevia Powder for extra sweetness and fiber. I used 3/4 cup wheat germ and 1/4 cup ground flax seed. When I make it next time I will add a little salt. Very good recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This recipe REALLY should have it's name changed. It isn't anything close to being "Sugar free". The dates have a lot of sugar. The raisins have a lot of sugar. And the concentrated apple juice has a ton of sugar in it. Why would someone intentionally mislead people like this with a recipe that is supposed to be healthy? There are some people who aren't supposed to eat much/any sugar and if they ate this recipe they would be getting plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I was really excited about this granola recipe, but the results were somewhat disappointing. First of all, there was way too much oatmeal and not enough of everything else...some bites didn't taste like anything except dry oatmeal. I didn't have any sunflower seeds around, so I used another half cup of walnuts instead. Other than that, I made this exactly as written. Probably the biggest problem was that the raisins, which are put in right in the beginning, burned. They turned into little bits of hard, bitter charcoal. It wasn't tasty...I ended up picking them all out and stirring in fresh raisins. This improved the granola immensely, but it wasn't awesome. If you are going to make this, be forewarned! Decrease the amount of oats to about 6 cups, and put the raisins in while the granola is cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I made some changes to the recipe. Instead of the paste made with the dates, I used mashed ripe bananas and added 1/2 Cup Splenda. It turned out good. Not super sweet but I don't want a sugary cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I followed the directions exactly. When it was all mixed together, I needed just a little bit more moisture. I added another 1/4th cup of apple juice. I loved the taste of this granola. It was not too sweet. Next time I may add cinamon. Just to see how that tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This granola is... okay. The flavor is a bit weak and the crunch just isn't what I was looking for, but it's not bad for a no sugar added recipe. It's not too sweet, and has a strong coconut flavor. It would benefit from some orange peel and cinnamon, maybe. Don't get mee wrong, it tases good, just not great. As a previous reviewer pointed out, it is still high in sugars (so not sugar free) and in starch. The coconut also makes it high in saturated fat. Just because it doesn't have honey or brown suger, don't think it's ultra-healthy. It was worth a try, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I halved the recipe and it still made a lot. I had to bake it for 40 plus minutes and I had it on a large cookie to get it toasted. Really had no taste even with all the sugar. I would prefer a good old granola bar over this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This is a tasty version of a less sweet granola. Correct, this recipe doesn't have added sugar, therefore it could be labeled sugar free. Correct, this recipe has plenty of natural sugar. However it also has plenty of starch, both of which cause a blood sugar rise in a diabetic. Diabetics, eat this granola with caution. The recipe yielded 13 cups when I made it, as written. I put it through a nutrient analysis and per 1/2 cup - 237 calories, 11 gms fat, 31 gms carbohydrate, 5 gms fiber. Hope this helps, Karen, Registered Dietitian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States