Sugar-Free Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FigmentOf YourImagination
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Tried this yesterday but I used ONE cup of coconut almond milk in the pudding so it was very thick. (Making instant pudding with almond milk tends not to set so I backed off on the amount to start.) After blending it with the cream cheese though it was very, very thick so I added a half cup more of almond milk before folding in the Cool Whip. I used sugar free Cool Whip, not lite/fat free and Neufchâtel cream cheese. I mixed a sugar free chocolate cake mix with 12 oz. of Diet Coke and baked as normal. DELICIOUS CUPCAKES! One note, this frosting is very much like whipped topping so it isn't a stiff frosting and must be kept regrigerated. So that the cupcakes didn't dry out, I placed them in a sealed Rubbermaid bin and put the frosting in a piping bag in the fridge. Whenever we wanted a cupcake we just quickly piped a little icing on just before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This recipe is delicious, but far from sugar-free. Cream cheese = 7g, milk = 11g (per cup), lite whipped topping = 25g. That's 43g of sugar. It's also got 124g of carbs. I used about 2/3 of the recipe to ice a low carb cake, so I figure that's about 30g of sugar. You can save carbs and sugar by using light cream cheese and almond milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Heyse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I wished I had read the reviews before I made it. It tastes really good but was really soft. I should have done the larger box of pudding and cut down the milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I made this with my class in school, and they liked it - some more than others. We cut down on the milk to make it thicker and the consistency was perfect. I didn't think it was too sweet as some other reviewers thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ecovington
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I made the large box of sugarfree instant chocolate pudding the day before and kept it in the fridge.. made it with 2 cups of milk. Very thick and creamy then on the day of the party I mixed it with 8 oz thawed coolwhip regular flavor and 8 oz regular cream cheese at room temp. This was for a birthday cake and I wanted it to taste as normal as possible without that terrible twang so many sugarless frostings have. I previously tried the sugarless chocolate can frosting ( horrible) and ended up cutting off the top of the cake and finding this recipe and refrosting the cake. I am Very happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I made this for my husband who is diabetic yesterday. It was very yummy, so much so that I enjoyed a piece myself. It was the first time my husband has been able to lick the bowl in years! I tweeked it a little & it was totally SF. I used sf chocolate cake mix. For the frosting I used one box of SF vanilla instant pudding mix (small box), 1 1/4 cups of whole milk, regular cream cheese, & SF cool whip. This frosted the tops of TWO 9x13 cakes sufficiently. I had no problem with frosting consistency, I did not use a mixer. I also was making one for our club, they LOVED it. This will be the only SF frosting I will make in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
okay, but not good or tasty, very bland flavorless. a waste of cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I originally wanted to try this recipe because my uncle is a diabetic. Today I made a pumpkin cupcake with this frosting for a bday party and the kids loved it! I did make minor changes to keep the frosting consistency a little thicker and less fat. I used 8oz. Philadelphia Soft Cream Cheese 1/3 fat, 2% milk, Jello's sugar free vanilla pudding, and only 4 tbsp of canned whipped cream instead (Cool Whip has high fructose corn syrup so I didn't use that). It turned out surprisingly creamy without tasting cream cheesy at all and not at all salty but more sweet probably because I used the vanilla flavored pudding. It's IMPORTANT to CHILL the frosting after making it for at least 15-20 mins. so it BECOMES THICKER and LESS RUNNY. Using my ingredients per serving is 53 calories, 2.8 fat,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
My son-in-law is always doing his low carb diet thing, so in place of whipped topping, I whipped up 1 cup of heavy cream with 2 packets of Splenda and a dash of vanilla. Also cut back the milk to 1-1/2 cups so that it would hold its shape better. It was FABULOUS!! Perfect, light, silky and ethereal frosting. Put it on a black bean chocolate cake and my SIL was ecstatic!! Chocolate cake with chocolate frosting that actually works on a low carb diet (Note that it's not NO carb, but pretty darned low for a diet treat.) He wants my daughter to make it all the time for him now. Although it's not low calorie this way, it's perfect for diabetics as well as low carb dieters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I made this frosting today. I used the big box of sugar-free vanilla pudding and 1 3/4 cups of milk. I also used reduced fat cream cheese. It was thick and will go great on a cake! (especially red velvet. Yuuuuuuum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States