Sugar-Free Cardamom-Mango Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I love cardamom and it was delicious in this smoothie. I scaled this back since I'm only making it for myself - I used one mango and it was super juicy and sweet. I also used a sweetened vanilla almond milk so I had no need for the fake sugar (which I'm very leery of anyway). Used greek yogurt. I had to add a lot more ice which really diluted the flavor. I should have used frozen fruit. I did enjoy it, but I'll stick to my normal smoothie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Just made this and it was amazing. Love the addition of cardamom. Only change I made was I used a couple teaspoons of honey and a half teaspoon natural sugar instead of the sweetener. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I peeled and cut my mango last night so that I could omit the ice in this smoothie. I did not use the full amount of artificial sweetener, I used two packets of Truvia sweetener. I made no other changes. It really was an interesting smoothie. I'm not sure that anyone liked the cardamom in the smoothie. I think that the boys were just too nice to say anything and I kept quiet as I wanted them to drink theirs. The consistancy was perfect. I'd like to make this again only I'd omit the cardamom completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Disappointed. Reading the description, I thought this would be something I could have for breakfast on the go. No you cannot. Flavor was very nice and refreshing, but its basically a dilluted yogurt with a dash of Cardamom and stirred with mango. I would have really been hungry in about a half an hour. I ended up giving it something (anythig) to give it some kind of bulk to it to make it last a few hours. I added a frozen banana, some oatmeal, more ice, some flax and wheat germ and that seemed to do it for me. If it was not for the cardamom flavor, this would not even have rated for me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Mmmmm.....not a fan of this recipe but that is just my personal tastes. I am not a fan of Splenda so I subbed with granulated sugar, but used less than what the recipe called for. I left out the ice cubes because I am not an icy smoothie fan. I like cardamom as a spice, so I included that optional ingredient. This is likely a good smoothie, but just not something that I personally liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Made this for Hubs this morning and, knowing his likes and dislikes, did not include the optional cardamom. (Frankly, I don't think I would have cared for that either) Generally I don't add sweetener of any kind to most smoothies as he prefers them more tart than sweet. However, I did today, in keeping with the recipe, but not nearly as much as called for - probably just a couple of teaspoons. This is so luxuriously creamy and smooth, with such a pretty, delicate peachy color. Hubs liked the tang of the yogurt and that the full flavor of the mango came through. He also called it pleasantly sweet. (I guess a little bit of added sweetener must be good!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I hate to say this, but I felt that there was no way I could use that much artificial sweetener, so I added NONE. Didn't have cardamom either. Instead of plain yogurt, I used reduced calorie peach & mango yogurt because that's all I had. What made it the best was adding 1 tablespoon of honey. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHER8470

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Your recipe was lovely, I was extremely pleased to see the edition of cardamom, this was the only recipe i found on this site that actually had this authentic ingedient. My sister makes these for dinner parties where it is all traditional cuisine, since i passed the recipe on. Good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I make mango smoothies all of the time using the fresh fruit. I've never had to add a sweetner before. They're very sweet on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I made a few alterations (using frozen mango because I think it blends smoother/thicker and mango juice concentrate in place of the milk and the sweetner), and it was amazing. The mixture of cardamom and mango reminded me of an Indian style pumpkin pie. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proclaimthename

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States