Sugar Free Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
GALWAYLADY- To keep the raisins from falling to the bottom of the cake, a good trick is to coat them with flour before adding them to the batter. It suspends them in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahParadis

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
I made this cake for two diabetics and even had a piece my self. I only used 1 cup of raisins, 1 1/2 C.water, and added a little more cinnamon. I used the food processor and it turned out delicious. My friends want to know when I,m making that moist yummy cake again. Usually when I've baked with applesauce the cakes usually seem rubbery this was not. Don't hesitate to make this cake. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Excellent. I received requests for the recipe at our faculty breakfast/lunch. You can substitute one and a half cups of Splenda for the 3 tablespoons of liquid sweetener listed in the recipe, if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
Absolutely fantastic cake! My guests had no idea that this cake was sugar free. Instead of adding liquid sweetener I used 3 tablespoons of concentrated apple juice. The texture was moist and crumbly. When I first took it out of the oven I thought that it would be heavy because it didn’t seem to have risen a lot. But I was wrong, it was quite light! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
Very nice cake. Don't let the words sugar-free lull you into a false sense of security. It still has 45 carbs per serving - much better than most cakes - but don't get carried away like my diabetic husband and son almost did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DesertBorn54

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This cake was good, I read the reviews first. I used concentrated apple juice as my sweetener. I am not a big fan of raisins, so I used dried cranberries. I would definitly make this again. Maybe add a little more spice. Great basic recipe, I think you can just tweak it to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
This was a really terrific cake! I made it for my grandfather who is a diabetic. It was a wonderful addition to my Thanksgiving Dinner! Two suggestions I have are: 1. 1 hour is actually a little too long to cook it. Although some ovens may vary. 2. This cake comes out a beautiful spongy brown color, and if you like, you could put the tiniest sprinkle of powdered sugar on top... BEAUTIFUL!!! This is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
i made this cake twice. The taste was good both times, (but you really have to like raisins). The first time it came out a bit dense. The second time I made it I added a tsp of baking powder and let it sit about 5 minutes before I put it in the oven. That seems to make it a little lighter. Overall a good cake for someone who is limiting sugar intake. I also used half whole wheat flour. I might cut back on the splenda next time. with all the raisins, it is plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
DIABETIC note...for those who are not familiar with counting carbs for diabetics; who think 'sugar free' means 'diabetic-friendly'. One serving (12 servings from a bundt pan) of this cake has 375 calories and 43 carbs. I randomly checked for another cake made in bundt pan, and found Pina Coloda Cake, made with a cake mix and a box of pudding (neither sugar free), and one serving (14 servings from a bundt pan) was 40 carbs...less than the 'sugar free' cake (but the serving was a bit smaller). If you're preparing food for diabetics, PLEASE look at the carbs and don't assume that sugar free is diabetic-friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2003
Excellent recipe! I used sweet'n low liquid, you could not tell this was sugar free. Next time I am going to add prune puree in place of the vegetable oil so it will be a low fat delight as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States