Sugar Free Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
After reading the reviews I am excited to make this cake. I think it would be excellent the way it is AND I think I might try subbing dried cherries for the raisins, or mashed banana for the applesauce. The addition of ground flax would also go a long way in upping nutrition and the amount of oil can also be reduced!Thank you for posting this recipe, POLACKLADY...you are indeed sweet, if sugar free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is a GREAT RECIPE - Some tweaks that I made were: Instead of 2 Cups of raisins I used 1 cup and 1 cup of dried cranberries. I used 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract and heaping 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and heaping 1/2 nutmeg and I used 1 Cup of pecans ALSO I used the sugar free icing also on this site (used sugar free french vanilla pudding flavor) and this was AMAZING! Husband and teenage daughter couldn't wait till after dinner to eat this and I had to limit them to 1-piece a night!! HIGHLY recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by King61256

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hampton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
OMG this was sooo moist & delicious! I followed another reviewers suggestion of using the Splenda (taste preference), I used 2/3cup of light mayonnaise in place of the oil & eggs. I also used the food processor and it came out perfect! I made it for dieting & diabetic company and usually there are leftovers but not this time! I had to make another one for my husband & daughter the very next day! Aside from my own changes I believe following the recipe to a T would also produce delicious results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ade

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Festus, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Very pleased with the final product! Used some reviewers tips and added the 1 tsp baking powder, baked as 2 8 inch cakes for 25 minutes and frosted with the sugar free cream cheese frosting from this site. Was a hit for the no-sugar eater's bday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I just made this cake for my diabetic father's birthday. It was a huge success. I made it just as stated in the recipe but didn't put in the raisins (my family is not a fan) and baked them in 2 9 in round pans for 25 mins and then made a layer cake out of them with the recipe for sugar free frosting on here made with the cheesecake pudding. My family loved it and said the few leftovers there were tasted even better after sitting for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wheeling, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
i made this cake twice. The taste was good both times, (but you really have to like raisins). The first time it came out a bit dense. The second time I made it I added a tsp of baking powder and let it sit about 5 minutes before I put it in the oven. That seems to make it a little lighter. Overall a good cake for someone who is limiting sugar intake. I also used half whole wheat flour. I might cut back on the splenda next time. with all the raisins, it is plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Very nice cake. I made it without nuts, with whole wheat and less oil, but I think I'll see if I can use even less next time to make a low cal cake. Raisins are very nice and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This cake was good, I read the reviews first. I used concentrated apple juice as my sweetener. I am not a big fan of raisins, so I used dried cranberries. I would definitly make this again. Maybe add a little more spice. Great basic recipe, I think you can just tweak it to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
My husband and I gave up sugar, so it was great to have a treat. I don't use any artificial sweetners. I substituted "stevia" for the sweetner. The only fault I could find is that it was a little dry. I'm going to try to come up with a glaze topping or frosting with stevia next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
GALWAYLADY- To keep the raisins from falling to the bottom of the cake, a good trick is to coat them with flour before adding them to the batter. It suspends them in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahParadis

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States