Sugar Free Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I made this delicious cake but substituted coconut oil for vegetable oil, left out the raisins, used pecans instead of walnuts and added a thin glaze with nuts on top to the finished cake. It was made as a birthday cake for my diabetic son and it turned out really good! I would like to try adding crushed fresh pineapple to it although it is nice and moist as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
In the ingredients it says 3 cups of water, then doesn't mention it in the instructions! I tried using the water, and the cake was a soupy unusable mess. I tried it another time without the water, and it came out very well. I paired it with peanut butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy Bodenhemier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Sweet and flavorful! I made a half recipe that I baked as 8 cupcakes for 17 minutes. I substituted 1 1/2 Tbsp dark molasses instead of the liquid sweetener, and used a total of 3/4 cup applesauce and only 1 1/2 Tbsp oil. But I used the full amount of cinnamon and nutmeg (so it was doubled for the half recipe). They did come out a wee bit dry with these alterations, but I would rather have that than the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I thought this cake was good. I used Agave necter for the sweetener. My only problem was it came out oily. It calls for oil and applesauce. usually you substitute applesauce for the oil to make it healthier. I will try again without the oil and see what happens. I also used cranberries instead of raisens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Yummy tried it today, since I did not have walnuts, I used coconut, I fluffed the coconut in an electric nut chopper, I also conjured up a "vanilla hard sauce" 1 cup boiling water, suger substitute equivilant to 1 1/2 cups brown sugar, (I should have used a equivalnt of 1 cup.) 2 Tablespoons of flour, 2 tablespoons of butter or margarine, 2 tablespoons of half and half. Vanilla to taste.(Since I got the hard sauce too sweet I kept adding some cornstarch and milk til I got it the right taste) (I prefer the cornstarch to flour.) Mix your flour or cornstarch with your sugar or sugar substitute, add the boiling water cook til it thickens, if too thick add some more water. once thickened, add butter, half and half and vanilla and a dash of salt , )since I did not have brown sugar substitute I put in a few drops of molasses.Since brown sugar is regular sugar sprayed with molasses.) Then serve it over the cake, This cake was very good witout anything over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Made this for diabetic's birthday and everyone was commenting on how good it was. I didn't use raisins and topped it with "Sugar-Free Frosting" by "Chelsey." Nice and moist. I used a 9" round pan and that was all the batter would make. I'd double it for a 2-layer cake next time for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This recipe was excellent. I needed a sugar free recipe for a wedding cake and I tested this out on my family and they loved it. My mother and grandmother are diabetic and I will be making this for them a lot now. The only thing I changed was the baking time, it really did not need a hour more like 40 mins. but otherwise it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I used dates instead of raisins because I don't like raisins - they worked well! In fact you probably could substitute any dried fruit. This cupcake tasted a tad bit like pumpkin I think due to the texture of the applesauce and the spices which are normally found in pumpkin bread. I used 3/4 cup unbleached flour and 1/4 cup wheat flour to make it even healthier. I omitted the nuts simply to make it more like a cupcake and not a muffin. Great! I may even substitute the applesauce with canned pumpkin next time! Thank you for a healthy cupcake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
DIABETIC note...for those who are not familiar with counting carbs for diabetics; who think 'sugar free' means 'diabetic-friendly'. One serving (12 servings from a bundt pan) of this cake has 375 calories and 43 carbs. I randomly checked for another cake made in bundt pan, and found Pina Coloda Cake, made with a cake mix and a box of pudding (neither sugar free), and one serving (14 servings from a bundt pan) was 40 carbs...less than the 'sugar free' cake (but the serving was a bit smaller). If you're preparing food for diabetics, PLEASE look at the carbs and don't assume that sugar free is diabetic-friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by Afor
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I MADE CUPCAKES. I looked all over for a good sugar free cake recipe and decided to try this one, I'm glad I did. I don't really like raisins but I did add about 1 cup of them and I did not add nuts. I also took a couple other reviewers advice and added baking powder and more cinnamon. The cupcakes turned out great. They only needed to bake for about 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Afor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States