Sugar Free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I tried this recipe for my mom who is trying to be on a diet, and to help her with her sugar cravings I decided to bake these. I used self rising flour and left out the salt. I also used pecans instead of walnuts and left out the frosting. The batter was so good that I had to remind myself that the brownies weren't for me. The only problem was my fault when I forgot to grease and flour the pan. Other than that they were perfect, and my mom loved them. MISSION ACCOMPLISHED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I did not add the baking powder and mine had some funny bubbles and cracks as they baked but flattened out as they cooled. I did everything just as the recipe called for- when I take some to a meeting this week I will add the baking powder. Pudding frosting is yummy. My diabetic husband says they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Sorry, but this recipie was AWFUL! They were like rubber, they even movevd like rubber. If you think I did something wrong, please let me know as I am dying to find a good sugar free cake recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Not horrible but not great either. I read the reviews and added vanilla and baking powder. It still turned out flat and the flavor was off - not satisfyingly chocolatey, or sweet and cakey. The search continues. I think I like recipes with honey, agave and stevia instead of the splenda. I could takes the chemicals of the splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I made this recipe today with the following modifications recommended: 1/4 tsp baking powder, vanilla and 1 packet sugar free chocolate pudding before the splenda. I only baked for 20 minutes - still kind of rubbery and really, really flat. Also pretty bland. I made them for my husband who is diabetic and he said "they're okay, missing something" as he made a face that showed exactly what he thought of them. I might add some sugar free cake frosting to salvage them. I won't be making them again, now trying to find a way to eat the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I have gestational diabetes and all I've wanted lately is a brownie! Made these and the truth is, a regular brownie is ten times better - but for a sugar-free brownie, these are pretty darn good! I did add a little bit of baking powder to combat flatness. My opinion: the brownies are better without the pudding on top. They are nice and fudgey and took care of my craving on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Pretty good for a sugar free dessert. It could be better, but it is a nice substitute for a diabetic. I used the 1/4 tsp of baking powder and the extra pudding with the sweetener. Good tips; they were successful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I was unsure of this... But they turned out great!! I used a 1t of vanilla, 1/4t of baking powder, butter instead of margarine, I used the sugar free pudding mix with truvia, and I added about 1/4 cup of all natural peanut butter, I also used vanilla soy milk (about 1/2 cup) they puffed up nicely... A little cakey, but great chocolate peanut butter flavor! Now the test will be if the BF likes them :) I didn't think they needed frosting, but yummy with SF ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
It wasn't too bad for a sugar-free brownie, but there is still much to be desired...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan.dunn18

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Though texture/moistness is great (I used the modifications mentioned by SHANNONSPIVEY), I just found it had no flavour. The walnuts and Splenda just overpowered everything. I couldn't taste the chocolate at all. I don't know if adding more cocoa powder would help or not. If there is a way to make this more flavourful, I would stick with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States