Sugar Free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Listen, the people before me must not love someone with diabetes. I made these a few times and to tell you the truth, it needed a little work. :) As far as them being flat? ANY so-called expert would know it needed a little baking powder. So, add just about 1/4 tsp. no more! Also, I know carbs also raise blood sugar. BUT! lol I ditch the skim (yuk) use regular milk or 1/2 and 1/2. FINALLY!! another trick ANY expert ;) would know... If its bitter and you are using cocoa.. use dutch processed cocoa its not bitter. Hershey's sells it in the silver container. If you don't have dutch processed cocoa try a little vanilla. This was a good recipe. It just needed an expert :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
400 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somers Point, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I am diabetic and this is a GREAT recipe. I made one change. I am not crazy about the tastes of artificial sweeteners, including Splenda. I used one small package of dry chocolate pudding and filled the remainder of the cup with Splenda. For those that thought the brownies were rubbery, you probably baked them to long. Great job Judy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
i think that besides being delicious, these brownies also got a bad rap from the obvious chef nazis out there in cyberland. i think the problem isnt the recipe, folks. if you had read between the lines, you would have seen the missing ingredient in all of your concoctions was LOVE. that's right, you forgot to add the LOVE. & without love, even the sweetest of treats will go down like the bitterest pill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I took the advice of the experts and added the baking powder and vanilla, they turned out really good. My husband is diabetic and he LOVED them!! He said they were GREAT! Said they ranked right up there with hot fudge cake at Shoney's. He ate them with ice cream and said it was out of this world!! Thanks for the advice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I can not have any sugar so am always looking for a sugar free treat recipe so I can get just a little of my 'chocolate' fix periodically. After reading the reviews I was a bit skeptical of trying this recipe. I followed a few of the suggestions and this recipe turned out great. I did add the baking powder and the vanilla. I also followed what someone had said and for the splenda, I took the measuring cup and put in the smaller box of s/f chocolate pudding mix in there and then finished filling the remainder of the way with the splenda. I used only evaporated milk and I did use about 1/4 cup more than it called for. I did not put the topping on and boy, me and my family loved them. Oh, I didn't use the nuts either. I made it a few times and am sitting here eating it as I type!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I made these brownies and had four people to tell me that they were the best ones that they had ever eaten. All were diabetic. I did leave off the topping and I did add 1/4 tsp of baking powder to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollandale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
This is the best brownies i have ever tasted even know i am can eat anything this is the first time i have ever tryied these sugar free brownies i will give you 25 stars if there where this many thanks, Jennifer cox
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I think there is something missing in these brownies. How about some baking powder? I made two batches and they were like rubber
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I made these the other night when i was craving something chocolate. I thought they tasted very good topped w/ some sugar free cool whip since I didn't have the pudding to make the frosting. One friend said they tasted salty (kinda weird since I used self rising flour)and my fiancee said they were kinda dry, but I thought they were perfectly fine and that's all that matters since Iam the one who's diabetic. I did add the vanilla as other reviewers suggested. I used regular old hershey's cocoa powder and it wasn't bitter at all. I used the 1c of sweetener as called for and it didn't have a weird taste. Oh, and I didn't have nuts so I didn't put them in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I make these for my diabetic father, but I like them too. The chocolate fudge icing adds a lot of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States