Sugar Free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Ok - I am not diabetic but do try and eat low carb. That being said - I made a couple changes that made these pretty good! I took one packet of SF choc pudding and put it into the 1 cup measuring cup. I then made up for most of the difference with Splenda but did add .25 cup sugar (for sweetness) I also added mint choc chips and I used a stand mixer with a whip to fluff it up. I then sprinkled coconut on top. YUMMY... very dense and cake like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I tried both the original recipe and the improvements and some tricks of my own, and NOTHING HELPED! They were thick, rubbery, and had little to no taste at all. You'd be better off using a regular brownie recipe and just substituting Splenda and such to make it sugar free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I added about 1/8 cup more cocoa to the brownies and didn't add the "frosting". My husband, who's diabetic, liked the taste but said they were a bit dry. Personally I found them dry and thickly solid in texture. I'll try this recipe again but with some (hopefully) improvements. For someone wanting a chocolate fix, this is great. For someone wanting sublime brownies...this isn't quite it yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Tastes like matzah bread. I don not recommend these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I made these the other night when i was craving something chocolate. I thought they tasted very good topped w/ some sugar free cool whip since I didn't have the pudding to make the frosting. One friend said they tasted salty (kinda weird since I used self rising flour)and my fiancee said they were kinda dry, but I thought they were perfectly fine and that's all that matters since Iam the one who's diabetic. I did add the vanilla as other reviewers suggested. I used regular old hershey's cocoa powder and it wasn't bitter at all. I used the 1c of sweetener as called for and it didn't have a weird taste. Oh, and I didn't have nuts so I didn't put them in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Wish I could find a good sugar free brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Ok, so im trying the brownies now. The are def missing something...Dont know what. But I tell ya what..for someone who cant eat sugar, it dont have to taste just like a brownie as long as its good. I think they were good in their own way..Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I tried all of the modification listed however still not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
The recipe as it is was not very good good. Actually, not terrible for a sugar free recipe, but even so, not yummy. What messed it up for me was the chocolate pudding as frosting. It just tasted funny and took away the chocolate flavor. I think the brownie part would have been pretty good without it. Next time I will try the tip recommended by another reviewer of adding the pudding mix inside. It just didn't taste right on top - what could be less fudgy than a brownie with pudding on top of it. Wait, I just remembered this cheesecake I made from this site called "brownie chocolate chip cheesecake" back before I knew I had to watch sugar...it has a box of brownies as the crust of the cheesecake. I'm always trying to think of a good sugar free cheesecake crust, so I think this brownie recipe minus the pudding would be perfect for a sugar free cheesecake crust! I will have to try that this weekend with a sugar free cheesecake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baton Rouge Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I'll admit that I have never cooked with splenda and stevia before (I had to use both since my new box of Splenda only had 1/2 c. in it!) The taste is okay, the texture dense, but weirdly, the whole thing sizzled in the pan while baking! I don't know if it was the butter and sugar substitute? I used a bit of PAM to prevent non-sticking, but I doubt that was the issue. Anyway, it was a good first attempt, and I did follow the adjustments suggested by the earlier posters. Might be worth a second try without the stevia and without the PAM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States