Sugar Free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I tried this recipe for my mom who is trying to be on a diet, and to help her with her sugar cravings I decided to bake these. I used self rising flour and left out the salt. I also used pecans instead of walnuts and left out the frosting. The batter was so good that I had to remind myself that the brownies weren't for me. The only problem was my fault when I forgot to grease and flour the pan. Other than that they were perfect, and my mom loved them. MISSION ACCOMPLISHED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I did not add the baking powder and mine had some funny bubbles and cracks as they baked but flattened out as they cooled. I did everything just as the recipe called for- when I take some to a meeting this week I will add the baking powder. Pudding frosting is yummy. My diabetic husband says they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Sorry, but this recipie was AWFUL! They were like rubber, they even movevd like rubber. If you think I did something wrong, please let me know as I am dying to find a good sugar free cake recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Not horrible but not great either. I read the reviews and added vanilla and baking powder. It still turned out flat and the flavor was off - not satisfyingly chocolatey, or sweet and cakey. The search continues. I think I like recipes with honey, agave and stevia instead of the splenda. I could takes the chemicals of the splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I made this recipe today with the following modifications recommended: 1/4 tsp baking powder, vanilla and 1 packet sugar free chocolate pudding before the splenda. I only baked for 20 minutes - still kind of rubbery and really, really flat. Also pretty bland. I made them for my husband who is diabetic and he said "they're okay, missing something" as he made a face that showed exactly what he thought of them. I might add some sugar free cake frosting to salvage them. I won't be making them again, now trying to find a way to eat the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I have gestational diabetes and all I've wanted lately is a brownie! Made these and the truth is, a regular brownie is ten times better - but for a sugar-free brownie, these are pretty darn good! I did add a little bit of baking powder to combat flatness. My opinion: the brownies are better without the pudding on top. They are nice and fudgey and took care of my craving on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Pretty good for a sugar free dessert. It could be better, but it is a nice substitute for a diabetic. I used the 1/4 tsp of baking powder and the extra pudding with the sweetener. Good tips; they were successful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I was unsure of this... But they turned out great!! I used a 1t of vanilla, 1/4t of baking powder, butter instead of margarine, I used the sugar free pudding mix with truvia, and I added about 1/4 cup of all natural peanut butter, I also used vanilla soy milk (about 1/2 cup) they puffed up nicely... A little cakey, but great chocolate peanut butter flavor! Now the test will be if the BF likes them :) I didn't think they needed frosting, but yummy with SF ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
It wasn't too bad for a sugar-free brownie, but there is still much to be desired...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan.dunn18

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Though texture/moistness is great (I used the modifications mentioned by SHANNONSPIVEY), I just found it had no flavour. The walnuts and Splenda just overpowered everything. I couldn't taste the chocolate at all. I don't know if adding more cocoa powder would help or not. If there is a way to make this more flavourful, I would stick with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States