Sugar Free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2001
I am a gourmet baker and cook, and unfortunately diabetic. Therefore, my baking experience is vast both with sugar and sugar-free recipes. I prepared this recipe following all directions. What I got was a bitter, flat pancake. Horrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
I wish I had read the previous review before trying this recipe. I concur; it is horrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
This recipe was so disgusting that everyone spit it out as soon as it hit our mouths!!! Please, for your health don’t make this recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
i think that besides being delicious, these brownies also got a bad rap from the obvious chef nazis out there in cyberland. i think the problem isnt the recipe, folks. if you had read between the lines, you would have seen the missing ingredient in all of your concoctions was LOVE. that's right, you forgot to add the LOVE. & without love, even the sweetest of treats will go down like the bitterest pill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Listen, the people before me must not love someone with diabetes. I made these a few times and to tell you the truth, it needed a little work. :) As far as them being flat? ANY so-called expert would know it needed a little baking powder. So, add just about 1/4 tsp. no more! Also, I know carbs also raise blood sugar. BUT! lol I ditch the skim (yuk) use regular milk or 1/2 and 1/2. FINALLY!! another trick ANY expert ;) would know... If its bitter and you are using cocoa.. use dutch processed cocoa its not bitter. Hershey's sells it in the silver container. If you don't have dutch processed cocoa try a little vanilla. This was a good recipe. It just needed an expert :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
395 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somers Point, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
I decided to try making this recipe with pecans instead of walnuts, 2% milk instead of skim and without the pudding frosting. As I mixed the ingredients, the kitchen filled with a lovely cocoa smell. As I baked it, the house filled with a wonderful aroma. As I let it cool, my mouth watered in anticipation. They looked a little flat, but still beautiful, with a perfect crust. I cut a small square and took a bite... UGH! Oh, these are HORRIBLE! X-p Its like bland bread with nuts... hardly any cocoa flavor and only a slight sweet aftertaste. The one positive thing I have to say about these is that they don't have a greasy feel in one's mouth (though they have an incredibly large amount of fat. I am diabetic BTW; as per the Canadian Diabetes Association symbols, the recipe as described is ~8 starch, 3 protein and 25 (yes, TWENTY FIVE) fat; ~1850 cal, with nuts). My wife (not diabetic) found them even worse. I'm not a 'chef nazi' and I wasn't trying to commit suicide by bad-brownie, this is just a BAD RECIPE. Look elsewhere for diabetic dessert recipes lest you get disappointed (why not just sick to the 'sugar free, chocolate fudge flavored instant pudding'; those (i.e. Jell-O) are always good by themselves (though I recommend using at least 2% milk, not skim) and have FAR less calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
This is the best brownies i have ever tasted even know i am can eat anything this is the first time i have ever tryied these sugar free brownies i will give you 25 stars if there where this many thanks, Jennifer cox
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
I made these for my grandma who is a diabetic and she loved them! Modifications were: 1/4 tsp. baking powder & 1/2 tsp. vanilla; I used 2% milk instead of skim and I did not use the frosting. *At first they looked cakelike, but as they cooled they went down and look like brownies. They smelt sooo good too! I didn't try them b/c my daughter is allergic to dairy and I nurse her. So, neither of us can have dairy. But my grandma gave them 4 stars!*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I was really excited about these, but they just didn't have any flavor. They were also only about 1/2 inch thick, too thin for the kind of brownies I like. The "frosting" is more like a pudding pie in a brownie like shell. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHOANELLIEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I made these for my boyfriend who doesnt like sugar in his sweets. he can eat it but doesnt like to. he said they were ok tasting. he didnt like the puddy topping so its best u leave that out .. the browines were ok. minus the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States