Sugar Free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I made these this afternoon, but I changed a couple things. Firstly, I used truvia, not splend. I also used light vanilla soy milk instead of regular skim milk. And substituted the walnuts for pecans. I also did not the frosting on top. I added about a 1/4 tsp of baking powder, and 1 tsp of vanilla. I thought they were actually pretty good! I don't really like things that are too sweet, so I thought these were pretty spot-on for me. The only thing I didn't really like is that they were more cake like, as opposed to brownies. This could have been an error on my part, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Flat and dense , slightly chewy and I even added the baking powder that was suggested by another baker. They puffed up in the oven and then fell flat upon cooling. We ended up putting them with ice cream. Good if you have a chocolate craving and are in desperation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I made this for my diabetic stepdad for after a bbq. It was more like fudge than a brownie (even for fudgey-type brownies) but when it first came out of the oven it was cakier. I added some peanut butter to the "frosting" and it was really good. Overall, it was ok. Very rich and dense. Probably wouldn't make again unless stepdad was coming over and would take the leftovers home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I am not diabetic, however I cannot eat sugar. I cooked this recipe as directed and found it to be a little flawed. Firstly, when I took it out, the margarine surfaced and was bubbling on the brownies, and they were too thin for my taste. Also, at 25 minutes, the edges are hard. However I will try to make it like MOM192 suggested, with the baking powder to see if that helps. Also I must give a big koodos to the icing cause in 23 years, I've never thought of using pudding as an icing. (5 stars on that)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
They taste okay, just came out flat like a pancake. Wish I would have read the review telling me to add 1/4 tsp of baking powder before I baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Very good! I used whole wheat flour, added 1t of baking powder and increased the Splenda to one and one half cups. They were nice and fluffy and great tasting. I did find just a little dry, so next time I will try adding some applesause. Happy Eating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
These brownies were really good. My parents and I are on the South Beach Diet and these were a good sugar-free treat for us. I followed the suggestions and added 1/4 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp vanilla. I also used 1/2 Splenda and 1/2 cup dry chocolate pudding mix instead of 1 cup of Splenda. We all liked them. It was hard to tell that they were sugar free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Not having made this I will still give it a 4. It looks much better than the one I got from the Splenda web site. I intend to make these today. Thanks for the frosting recipe. Well, I made a batch today & even my spouse likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Salome, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I doubled it I can't beleive this is suppose to serve 50 pieces. Someone messed up. I wasn't pleased with this item at all and I am a chef........you need to add baking powder and little van.............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Terrible pasty flavor, a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States