Sugar Free Blueberry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I made this recipe with blueberries from the backyard and "regular" sugar. I had no trouble with the recipe as it was very easy to make. We all thought it was delicious, and it stayed moist for days (and then it was gone). The only bad thing I heard about it was that the topping "wasn't what I expected it to be." I thought the topping was great, but I guess if someone really didn't they could use a different one. I'm definitely keeping this recipe for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This was not very good at all. It could have been my error, but the taste and the texture were off. I'm always looking for sugar-free recipes because my mom is diabetic. I'll keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Wow!! I am Type 2 Diabetic and 9 months pregnant. I don't know why I couldn't have found this recipe sooner. It is fantastic. I feel so guilty eating it because it doesn't taste sugar free. Will make again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I made this with regular sugars and it was moist and delicious. I suggest baking it 5-10 min. longer than recipe calls for. This one's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
I made this recipe for my diabetic father. Instead of making a cake I made muffins. It was quick and easy to make him a basket of them for a little father's day suprise. We all enjoyed them for breakfast with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deniece A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I made this to take to work today and everyone loved it; it disappeared quickly! I was afraid to make it with all Splenda, fearing that articial sweetener aftertaste, so I made it with half Splenda and half regular sugar. (For the brown sugar, I used 3/4 cup regular brown sugar, and 3/4 cup Splenda Brown Sugar Blend. For those of you who are diabetic, please be aware that Splenda Brown Sugar Blend contains 1/2 regular brown sugar...it's NOT sugar free!) I also subbed 1 cup of white whole wheat flour for one of the 3 cups of all-purpose flour. I baked it in a catering half-pan, about 9x12 inches, for 43 minutes, and it came out just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This recipe was delicious. I made it for my grandpa who is diabetic but loves his sweets. I used Splenda for baking white sugar and Splenda brown sugar mix. The cake was amazing, I got so many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I made this in a 9-inch pan and it turned out perfectly. Be sure to reduce the amount of topping by about half if you bake the cake in a round pan to account for the smaller surface area. I've also made this with real sugars. The result is equally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This recipe deserves more than 5 stars! I made this for Easter for my diabetic parents and EVERYONE liked it! It can be difficult to find a GOOD diabetic recipe that tastes "normal", this didn't taste sugar free at all! I used Splenda White sugar for the cake and Splenda Brown sugar for the topping and used real butter~Absolutely WONDERFUL! Thanks for a tasty & healthy recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
YUM! I can't believe this sugar free coffee cake tasted as good as it did. I made this for Mother's Day and it was a hit! I used Splenda brand white and brown sugars. I used the frozen blueberries and thawed them before adding to the batter. I baked it an additional 10 minutes longer than called for because the middle wasn't quite set. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States